
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 
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Georgia Department of Community Health 
9 Peachtree Street, NW, Suite 36-450 
Atlanta, GA 30303-315 

RE: Georgia 16-004 

Dear Ms. Wiant: 
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CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid state 
plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 16-004. Effective July 1, 2016 this 
amendment proposes to revise the payment methodology for specialized nursing home 
ventilator services. Specifically, this amendment will increase the payment rates by three 
(3%) percent. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the 
implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We have found that the proposed 
changes in payment methodology comply with applicable requirements and therefore have 
approved them with an effective date of July 1, 2016. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the 
amended approved plan pages. 

If you have any questions, please call Stanley Fields at (502) 223-5332. 

Sincerely, 

~,r__ p~ 
Kristin Fan 
Director 



TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 
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16-004 
2. STATE 
GEORGIA 
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SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID) 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 

July I, 2016 
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10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: 
Effective July I, 2016, the Department of Community Health proposes to increase reimbursement for specialized nursing home ventilator care 
by3%. 

II. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One): 
0 GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 
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Attachment 4.19 - D 

Page 34 

State Georgia 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES­

NURSING FACILITY SERVICES 

2. Nursing Facility Rate Determination for Ventilator Dependent Residents 

(I) The nursing facility per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be 
$463.87 effective for dates of service on and after November 13, 2009. 
Effective for dates of service on and after July I , 2016, the nursing facility 

per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be $494.68. 

(2) The per diem costs of providing services to the ventilator dependent 
residents shall be maintained separately (as a distinct part) of each facility's 
annual cost report beginning November 13, 2009. 

(3) Ventilator dependent per diem rates will cover all skilled nursing care 
services and will be all-inclusive . 

( 4) No additional amount above the current nursing facility daily rate shall be 
allowed until the service is prior authorized by the Department's Medical 
Management Contractor. 

(5) The resident's clinical condition shall be reviewed every 90 days to 
determine ifthe resident's medical condition continues to warrant services 
at the ventilator dependent nursing facility rate. Prior authorization through 
the Department's Medical Management Contractor spans a 90-day maximum 
time period . The nursing facility is required to resubmit requests for 
continued stay prior to expiration of the current PA. If a resident no longer 
requires the use of a ventilator, the provider shall not receive additional 
reimbursement beyond the Georgia Medicaid nursing home per diem rate 
determined for the facility. 

TN No. 16-004 Approval DateSEP 0 1 2016 Effective Date: 07-01-16 
Supersedes 
TN No. 09-0 I I 



Supplement 1 to Attachment 4.19 - D 
Page I 

State Georgia 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES­

NURSING FACILITY SERVICES 

NURSING FACILITY RATE DETERMINATIONS FOR VENTI LA TOR DEPENDENT 
RESIDENTS 

(I) The nursing facility per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be 
$463 .87 effective for dates of service on and after November 13 , 2009. 
Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2016, the nursing facility 
per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be $494.68. 

(2) The per diem costs of providing services to the ventilator dependent 
residents shall be maintained separately (as a distinct part) of each facility's 
annual cost report beginning November 13, 2009. 

(3) Ventilator dependent per diem rates will cover all skilled nursing care 

services and will be all-inclusive. 

( 4) No additional amount above the current nursing facility daily rate shall be 
allowed until the service is prior authorized by the Department's Medical 

Management Contractor. 

(5) The resident's clinical condition shall be reviewed every 90 days to 
determine ifthe resident' s medical condition continues to warrant services 

TN No. 16-004 
Supersedes 
TN No. 12-003 

at the ventilator dependent nursing facility rate . Prior authorization through 
the Department's Medical Management Contractor spans a 90-day maximum 
time period. The nursing facility is required to resubmit requests for 
continued stay prior to expiration of the current PA. If a resident no longer 
requires the use of a ventilator, the provider shall not receive additional 
reimbursement beyond the Georgia Medicaid nursing home per diem rate 
determined for the facility . 

Approval oa&tP 0 l 2016' Effective Date: 07-01-16 


