
DEPART ME NT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850 

Financial Management Group 

Ms. Linda Wiant 

MAY 0 5 Z017 

Director of Medicaid Assistance Plans 
Medicaid Division 
Georgia Department of Community Health 
9 Peachtree Street, NW, Suite 36-450 
Atlanta, GA 30303-3159 

RE: Georgia State Plan Amendment 17-0003 

Dear Ms. Wiant: 

CENTERS FOR MEOif,ARE & MEOif,AIO SERVICES 

CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan 
submitted under transmittal number 17-0003. Effective January 1, 2017, this amendment proposes to 
increase the reimbursement for specialized nursing home ventilator care. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 
1902( a)( 13 ), 1902( a)(30), and 1903( a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal 
regulations at 42 CFR Part 447. We have found that the proposed reimbursement methodology 
complies with applicable requirements and therefore have approved them with an effective date of 
January 1, 2017. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended approved plan pages. 

If you have any questions, please call Anna Dubois at (850) 878-0916. 

Sincerely, 

Kristin Fan 
Director 

.... 



TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Ch eck One): 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 

17-003 
2. STATE 
GEORGIA 

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE 
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID) 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 

January I, 201 7 

0 NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN X AMENDMENT 

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Se a rate Transmittal {or each amendment) 
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: 

42 C.F.R. § 447.205 FFY 201 7 $250,556 
FFY 2018 $202,246 

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: 9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION 
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) : 

Attachment 4 .19D page I and page 34 

I 0. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: 
Effective July I , 2016, the Department of Community Health proposes to increase reimbursement for specialized nursing home ventilator care. 

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One): 

12. 

0 GOVERNOR' S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 
0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR' S OFFICE ENCLOSED 
0 NO W~ DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

14. TITLE: CHIEF, DIVISION OF MEDICAID 

[2J OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 
Single State Agency Comments Attached 

16. RETURN TO: 

Department of Community Health 
Division of Medicaid 
2 Peachtree Street, NW, 361h Floor 
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3159 



Supplement I to Attachment 4 .19 - D 
Page I 

State Georgia 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES­
NURSING FACILITY SERVICES 

NURSING FACILITY RATE DETERMINATIONS FOR VENTILATOR DEPENDENT 
RESIDENTS 

(I) The nursing facility per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be 
$463 .87 effective for dates of service on and after November 13 , 2009. 

Effective for dates of service on and after July I, 2016, the nursing facility 
per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be $494 .68 .. Effective for 
dates of service on and after January I, 2017, the nursing facility per diem for 
a ventilator dependent resident will be $524.36. Effective for dates of service 
on and after July I, 2017, the nursing facility per diem for a ventilator 
dependent resident will be $509.52. 

(2) The per diem costs of providing services to the ventilator dependent 

residents shall be maintained separately (as a distinct part) of each facility's 
annual cost report beginning November 13, 2009 . 

(3) Ventilator dependent per diem rates will cover all skilled nursing care 
services and will be all-inclusive . 

( 4) No additional amount above the current nursing facility daily rate shall be 
allowed until the service is prior authorized by the Department's Medical 

Management Contractor. 

(5) The resident's clinical condition shall be reviewed every 90 days to 
determine ifthe resident's medical condition continues to warrant services 
at the ventilator dependent nursing facility rate . Prior authorization through 
the Department's Medical Management Contractor spans a 90-day maximum 
time period. The nursing facility is required to resubmit requests for 
continued stay prior to expiration of the current PA. If a resident no longer 
requires the use of a ventilator, the provider shall not receive additional 
reimbursement beyond the Georgia Medicaid nursing home per diem rate 
determined for the facility. 

TN o. 17-003 Approval DateMAY 0 5 2011 Effective Date: 01-01-17 
Supersedes 
TN No. 16-004 



Attachment 4.19 - D 

Page 34 

State Georgia 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES­

NURSING FACILITY SERVICES 

2. Nursing Facility Rate Determination for Ventilator Dependent Residents 

(I) The nursing facility per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be 
$463.87 effective for dates of service on and after November 13, 2009. 

Effective for dates of service on and after July I, 2016, the nursing facility 

per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be $494.68. Effective for 
dates of service on and after January I, 20 I 7, the nursing facility per diem for 

a ventilator dependent resident will be $524.36. Effective for dates of service 
on and after July I, 2017, the nursing facility per diem for a ventilator 
dependent resident will be $509.52. 

(2) The per diem costs of providing services to the ventilator dependent 
residents shall be maintained separately (as a distinct part) of each facility's 
annual cost report beginning November 13 , 2009. 

(3) Ventilator dependent per diem rates will cover all skilled nursing care 
services and will be all-inclusive. 

( 4) No additional amount above the current nursing facility daily rate shall be 
allowed until the service is prior authorized by the Department's Medical 
Management Contractor. 

(5) The resident's clinical condition shall be reviewed every 90 days to 
determine ifthe resident's medical condition continues to warrant services 
at the ventilator dependent nursing facility rate. Prior authorization through 
the Department's Medical Management Contractor spans a 90-day maximum 
time period . The nursing facility is required to resubmit requests for 
continued stay prior to expiration of the current PA. If a resident no longer 
requires the use of a ventilator, the provider shall not receive additional 
reimbursement beyond the Georgia Medicaid nursing home per diem rate 
determined for the f acility. 

T No. 17-003 Approval Date:MAY 0 5 2017 Effective Date: 01-01-2017 
Supersedes 
TN No. 16-004 


