DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850



## **Financial Management Group**

AUG 3 1 2017

Ms. Lynette Rhodes
Acting Director of Medicaid Assistance Plans
Medicaid Division
Georgia Department of Community Health
Medicaid Division
2 Peachtree Street, NW, 36<sup>th</sup> floor
Atlanta, GA 30303-3159

RE: Georgia State Plan Amendment 17-0012

Dear Ms. Rhodes:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number 17-0012. Effective July 1, 2017, this amendment proposes to increase the nursing facility per-diem for a ventilator dependent resident by 3% to \$524.81.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR Part 447. We have found that the proposed reimbursement methodology complies with applicable requirements and therefore have approved them with an effective date of July 1, 2017. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended approved plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Anna Dubois at (850) 878-0916.

Sincerely,

Kristin Fan Director

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	2. STATE	
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	17-012	GEORGIA	
	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TIT	TI E VIV OF THE	
	SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)		
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE		
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES			
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	July 1, 2017		
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):			
☐ NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE CO	NSIDERED AS NEW PLAN	X AMENDMENT	
	KS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)		
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:		
42 C.F.R. § 447.205	FFY 2017 \$53,621		
O DA OF MIN (DED OF THE DIAN OFOTION OF ATTACHMENT	FFY 2018 \$216,413	PERPER AL ARABIAN	
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):		
Supplement 1 to Attachment 4.19-D, page 1.	G 1 1 1 1 1 1		
Attachment 4.19-D, page 34.	Supplement 1 to Attachment 4.19-D, page 1. Attachment 4.19-D, page 34.		
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:	Attachment 4.19-D, page 34.		
This State Plan Amendment will increase mechanized ventilator per diem rates by 3% effective July 1, 2017.			
This state I fair Americanent will increase medianized ventrator per dien	irrates by 376 chective July 1, 2017.		
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):			
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT	☐ OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:		
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED	Single State Agency Comments Attached		
☐ NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL			
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:		
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OF FICIAL:	16. RETURN 10;		
70000	Department of Community Health		
13. TYPED NAME: LINDA WIANT	Division of Medicaid		
14. TITLE: CHIEF, DIVISION OF MEDICAID	2 Peachtree Street, NW, 36th Floor		
	Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3159		
15. DATE SUBMITTED: 6 -30 -17			
FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY			
17. DATE RECEIVED:	18. DATE APPROVED: AUG 31	2017	
PLAN APPROVED – ON	NE COPY ATTACHED		
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAUL 0 1 2017	20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFF	ICIAL:	
	Sust =	是是2016年的1965年以中的4.5°	
21. TYPED NAME:	22. TITLE: Carlos Calc		
Unistin TAN	DILLOTOF PINCO		
23. REMARKS:			

## METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES-NURSING FACILITY SERVICES

- 2. Nursing Facility Rate Determination for Ventilator Dependent Residents
  - (I) Effective for dates of service on and after January 1, 2017, the nursing facility per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be \$524.36. Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2017, the nursing facility per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be \$524.81.
  - (2) The per diem costs of providing services to the ventilator dependent residents shall be maintained separately (as a distinct part) of each facility's annual cost report beginning November 13, 2009.
  - (3) Ventilator dependent per diem rates will cover all skilled nursing care services and will be all-inclusive.
  - (4) No additional amount above the current nursing facility daily rate shall be allowed until the service is prior authorized by the Department's Medical Management Contractor.
  - (5) The resident's clinical condition shall be reviewed every 90 days to determine if the resident's medical condition continues to warrant services at the ventilator dependent nursing facility rate. Prior authorization through the Department's Medical Management Contractor spans a 90-day maximum time period. The nursing facility is required to resubmit requests for continued stay prior to expiration of the current PA. If a resident no longer requires the use of a ventilator, the provider shall not receive additional reimbursement beyond the Georgia Medicaid nursing home per diem rate determined for the facility.

Approval DateAUG 3 1 2017 Effective Date: 07-01-17

TN No. 17-012 Supersedes TN No. 17-003

## METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES-NURSING FACILITY SERVICES

## NURSING FACILITY RATE DETERMINATIONS FOR VENTILATOR DEPENDENT RESIDENTS

- (I) Effective for dates of service on and after January 1, 2017, the nursing facility per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be \$524.36. Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2017, the nursing facility per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be \$524.81.
- (2) The per diem costs of providing services to the ventilator dependent residents shall be maintained separately (as a distinct part) of each facility's annual cost report beginning November 13, 2009.
- (3) Ventilator dependent per diem rates will cover all skilled nursing care services and will be all-inclusive.
- (4) No additional amount above the current nursing facility daily rate shall be allowed until the service is prior authorized by the Department's Medical Management Contractor.
- (5) The resident's clinical condition shall be reviewed every 90 days to determine if the resident's medical condition continues to warrant services at the ventilator dependent nursing facility rate. Prior authorization through the Department's Medical Management Contractor spans a 90-day maximum time period. The nursing facility is required to resubmit requests for continued stay prior to expiration of the current PA. If a resident no longer requires the use of a ventilator, the provider shall not receive additional reimbursement beyond the Georgia Medicaid nursing home per diem rate determined for the facility.

Approval Date: AUG 3 1 2017 Effective Date: 07-01-17

TN No. 17-012 Supersedes TN No. 17-003