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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Atlanta Regional Office

61 Forsyth Street, Suite 4720

Atlanta, Georgia 30303

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

CENTER FOR MEDICAID AND CHIP SERVICES (CMCS)

Mr. Jerry Dubberly

Chief, Division of Medicaid p-6 7018
Georgia Department of Community Health SE

2 Peachtree Street, NW

Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3159

Re: Georgia State Plan Amendment 12-003

Dear Mr. Dubberly:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 12-003. Effective F ebruary 1, 2012 this amendment
proposes to adjust the payment methodology for Long Term Care services. Specifically the
amendment proposes to increase reimbursement rates resulting from a change to the 2009 cost
report from the 2006 cost report as the basis for reimbursement rates. In addition, the
amendment proposes to convert from the Minimum Data Set 2.0 to 3.0 resulting in new case mix
index scores used in the caiculation of nursing facility rates. The State estimates that the Federal
budget impact of this SPA will be an increase of $30,999,930 and $41,232,839 for Fiscal Years

2012 and 2013 respectively.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal
regulations at 42 CFR Part 447. We have found that the proposed reimbursement methodology
complies with applicable requirements and therefore have approved them with an effective date
of February 1, 2012. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended approved plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Anna Dubois at (850} 878-0916.

Sincerely

Director, CMCS

RECEIVED
SEP 10 2012

Chief's Office
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PART Ii, POLICIES AND PROCEDURES FOR

NURSING FACILITY SERVICES
CHAPTER 10660

BASIS FOR REIMBURSEMENT

This chapter provides an explanation of the Division’s reimbursement
methodology.

1002 Reimbursement Methodology

A facility’s Actual Reimbursement Rate is the amount the Division will reimburse
to a facility for nursing services rendered to a particular eligible patient for one
patient day and is calculated by subtracting Patient Income from Total Allowed
Per Diem Billing Rate. In addition, it is subject to retroactive adjustment

according to the relevant provisions of Part [, Chapter 400 of the Manual and
Supplement 4 to Attachment 4.19-D.

1002.1 Definitions

Rev 01/01/06

TN No.:_12-003
Supersedes
TN No.:_06-021

a.

c.

Patient Income 1s that dollar amount shown on the Summary
Notification letter issued by the Department of Family and Children
Services (DFCS). The patient’s income is deducted in full from the
Medicaid reimbursement rate until the income has been exhausted.

Total Allowed Per Diem Billing Rate is the amount derived from the
rate setting process, as defined in Sections 1002.2 and 1002.3.

A nursing facility is an institution licensed and regulated to provide
nursing care services or intermediate care services for the mentally
retarded in accordance with the provisions of this Manual. For
reimbursement purposes, nursing facilities including hospital based
facilities are divided into two types based upon the mix of Medicaid
patients residing in the facilities. The type classification of a nursing
facility may change as described in this chapter. The types are
described below:

1) Nursing Facilities - These facilities provide skilled and
intermediate nursing care continuously, but do not provide
constant medical and support services available in an acute care
facility or hospital.

SEP -6 2012
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2) Intermediate Care Facilities for the Mentally Retarded (ICF-MR) -
These facilities provide care to patients that are mentally retarded.

d. Cost Center refers to one of five groupings of expenses reported on
Schedule B-2 of the "Nursing Home Cost Report Under Title XIX,"
hereinafier referred to as the Cost Report. Specifically, expenses for
the five cost centers are reported in Column 3 of the Schedule as
Routine and Special Services (Lines 17 and 77), Dietary (Line 89),
Laundry and Housekeeping and Operation and Maintenance of Plant
{Lines 109 and 123), Administrative and General (Line 169), and
Property and Related (Linel86). See hospital-based and state
institutions cost reports for appropriate cost center expense groupings.

e. Distinct Part Nursing Facilities are facilities in which a portion
operates as a nursing facility and another portion operates separately as
an intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded.

f. Total Patient Days are the number of days reported by the facility on
Schedule A, Line 13, Column 8 of the Cost Report subject to
correction or adjustment by the Division for incorrectly reported data.

g. Hospital-Based Nursing Facilities - A nursing facility is hospital-based
when the following conditions are met:

1. The facility is affiliated with an acute care hospital that is enrolled
with the Division in the Hospital Services Program.

2. The facility is subordinate to the hospital and operated as a
separate and distinct hospital division that has financial and
managerial responsibilities equivalent to those of other revenue
producing divisions of the hospital.

3. The facility is operated with the hospital under common ownership
and governance. The long-term care facility, as a division of the
hospital, must be responsible to the hospital’s governing board.

4. The facility is financially integrated with the hospital as evidenced
by the utilization of the hospital’s general and support services. A
minimum of four services from Section A and two services from
Section B below must be shared with the hospital.

Section A

a) employee benefits

b) central services and supply
¢} dietary

d) housekeeping

¢) laundry and linen

f) maintenance and repairs

SEP -6 2012
TN No.:_12-003

Supersedes Approval Date: Effective Date:_02-01-2012
TN No.:_06-021
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Section B

a) accounting

b} admissions

¢) collections

d) data processing

e) maintenance of personnel

Facilities must provide organizational evidence demonstrating that
the above requirements of (4) have been met. This evidence will
be used to determine which facilities will be hospital-based.
Evidence that the required number of services in Sections A and B

are shared with the hospital must be included in the hospital’s
Medicare cost report.

Appropriate costs should be allocated to the nursing facility and
the Medicare cost report must be approved by the Medicare
intermediary.

In making the determination that a long-term care facility is
hospital-based, collocation is not an essential factor; however, the
distance between the facilities must be reasonable as determined
by the Division or its agents.

Rev. 01/09

Rev 01/2011

The Division will recover the monetary difference reimbursed to
the facility between hospital-based and freestanding status for any
time period the facility does not qualify for hospital-based status.

To change classification to hospital-based from another class, or to
enroll in the program as a hospital-based provider, the following
restrictions apply in addition to the requirements described above:

1) Only one hospital-based nursing facility per hospital is
allowed.

2) Any cost increases for the change to the hospital-based
classification will be reimbursed when the first filed
Medicare cost report is used to file the Medicaid cost report
to set a per diem rate.

TN No.;_12-003 SEP -4 2012

Supersedes Approval Date: Effective Date:_02-01-2012
TN No.:_066-021
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Nursing facilities classified as hospital-based prior to July 1, 1994,
will be exempt from the above additional requirements. Hospitals,
which currently have more than one hospital-based nursing
facility, will not be allowed to include any additional hospital-
based facilities.

h. Property Transaction is the sale of a facility or of a provider; the lease

of a facility; the expiration of a lease of a facility; the construction of a
new facility; an addition to the physical plant of a facility; or any
transaction, other than change of ownership of a provider due solely to
acquisition of capital stock, or the merger of a provider with another
legal entity (statutory merger). For purposes of reimbursement, a sale
shall not include any transaction in which acquisition is less than 51%
of a partnership or proprietorship, or accomplished solely by
acquisition of the capital stock of the corporation without acquisition
of the assets of that corporation. The effective date of any Property
Transaction shall be the latest of all of the following events that are
applicable to the transaction:

The effective date of the sale or the lease.

The first day a patient resides in the facility.

The date of the written approval by the Division of Health

Planning of the relevant proposal.

4. The effective date of licensing by the Georgia Department of
Community Health Standards and Licensure Unit.

5. The effective date of the Statement of Participation in the
Georgia Medical Assistance Program.

6. The date on which physical construction is certified complete
by whichever agency(s) is/are responsible for this
determination.

7. The date of the approval of a Certificate of Need by the

Division of Health Planning.

(S I O

Gross Square Footage is the outside measurement of everything under
a roof, which is heated and enclosed. When the Division issues the
provider a rate under the Fair Rental Value System, it is a tentative rate
based upon the data previously submitted to the Division for
verification. The data received on gross square footage and age of a
faciiity is subject to audit review (along with other parameters which
affect the billing rate calculation). Documentation should include but
not be limited to blueprints, architect plans, certified appraisals, etc.

Age 1s defined in Section 1002.5(5).

SEP - 6 201

Approval Date: Effective Date:_02-01-2012
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k. Cost is the expense incurred for goods and services used to operate a
nursing facility. In the establishment of a per diem billing rate, most
costs are allowable while certain other costs are not. A definition of
cost and a discussion of allowable and non-allowable costs are
contained in Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Provider Reimbursement Manual (CMS-15-1). In addition to
those non-allowable costs discussed in CMS-15-1, the costs listed
below are non-allowable.

Costs related to lobbying and government relations, including costs
for employees with duties related to lobbying and government
relations, honorariums and reimbursement of travel or other
expenses of elected officials;

Memberships in civic organizations;

QOut-of-state travel paid by the provider for persons other than
board members or those employed or contracted by the provider.
Out-of-state travel for provider personnel must be related to patient
care;

Vehicle depreciation or vehicle lease expense in excess of the
lesser of IRS limits per vehicle or the amount allowed under
Medicare reimbursement principles provided, however, such limits
shall not apply to specialized patient transport vehicles (e.g.
ambulances);

Air transport vehicles that are not used to transport patient care
staff or patients. If these vehicles are sometimes used for patient
care staff or patient transport, the portion of cost that is unrelated
to patient care staff or patient transport is non-allowable. For
purposes of this provision, patient care staff includes only those
who are transported in order to provide direct medical care to an
mdividual patient.

Fifty percent (50%) of membership dues for national, state, and
local associations; :

Legal services for an administrative appeal or hearing, or court
proceedings involving the provider and the Division or any other
state agency when a judgment or relief is not granted to the
provider. Legal services associated with certificate of need
issuance reviews, appeals,; disputes or court proceedings are not
allowable regardiess of outcome. legal services associated with a
provider’s initial certificate of need request shall be allowable;

SEP - § 2012

Approval Date: Effective Date:_02-01-2012
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Advertising costs that are () for fundraising purposes, (b) incurred
in the sale or lease of a facility or agency or in connection with
1ssuance of the provider’s own stock, or the sale of stock held by
the provider in another corporation, (c} for the purpose of
increasing patient utilization of the provider’s facilities; (d) for
public image improvement, or (e) related to government relations
or lobbying,

Funds expended for personal purchases.

Rev. 07/01/06
1002.2 Total Allowed Per Diem Billing Rate for Facilities for Which a Cost

Report is Used To Set a Billing Rate

Rev. 07/2010 For dates of service beginning February 1, 2012, the 2009 Cost Report is
the basis for reimbursement.

Rev. 04/09
For these facilities the following formulas apply:

Total Allowed Per Diem Billing Rate =

Allowed Per Diem + Efficiency Per Diem + Growth Allowance + Other
Rate Adjustments,

Summation of the (Net Per Diem or Standard Per Diem, whichever
amount is less as to the facility; for Nursing Facilities, the resulting per
diem amount for Routine and Special Services is multiplied by a facility’s
quarterly case mix score as determined by the Division for Medicaid
patients during the most recent calendar quarter for which information is
available) for each of the four Non-Property Cost Centers plus the Net Per
Diem for the Property and Related Cost Center. The Property and Related
Cost Center reimbursement for those facilities whose cost reimbursement
is limited to the standard (90th percentile) per diem in this cost center will
be based upon the standard per diem calculated from the cost reports for
the year ending June 30, 1981.

Efficiency Per Diem =
Summation of (Standard Per Diem minus Net Per Diem) x 75% up to the
Maximum Efficiency Per Diem for each of the five cost centers.

Rev. 07/01/2010 Growth Allowange =

Rev. 01/01/2008 Summation of 0% of the Allowed Per Diem for each of the four Non-
Property and Related cost centers (Routine and Special Services; Dietary;

TN No.:_12-003 SEP ~§ 2012

Supersedes Approval Date: Effective Date:_02-0}-2012
TN No.:_06-02]
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Landry and Housekeeping and Operations and Maintenance of Plant; and
Administrative and General).

Further explanation of these terms is included below:

a. In general, the Net Per Diem is determined from the costs of operation
of the individual facility in which eligible patients reside. These
reports are determined by utilizing the information submitted by the
facility on its Cost Report.

All amounts and supporting data submitted on the Cost Report are
subject to verification and adjustment by the Division. These
modifications concern: mathematical calculation errors; limitations
placed on allowable costs, and the documents, principles, and criteria
referenced therein; reasonableness limitations placed on salaries paid
employees of the facility; reasonableness limitations using the
principles contained in CMS-15-1; or other parameters placed on
reasonable cost by the Division. These modifications basically
concern what expenses are attributable to the care received and the
reasonableness of the amounts of expenses that are attributable to care.
See Supplement 4 to Attachment 4.19-D for appellate procedures to
resolve disputes of specific contested adjustments. Specifically, the
Net Per Diem for each of the five cost centers is determined as follows
{all Schedule references are to the Cost Report):

See Section 1002.5 for additional description of such limitations.

Allowable Home Office salary costs are limited to an appropriate
maximum.

Fringe benefits are also limited to an appropriate maximum. (A per
bed salary ceiling also is imposed, based on the 70th percentile of
costs per the 1988 home office cost reports, plus an allowance for
inflation. Home Office salaries and related fringe benefits are
subjected to a $100,000 maximum salary for CEQ, COO, CFO and
other Home Office personnel. Therefore, in addition to the per bed
salary ceiling, we have incorporated a position maximum of $100,000
to be applied only to owners of nursing facilities and related parties.)
Reimbursement for the cost of home office vehicles is eliminated,
except to the extent that home office vehicle costs can be included
with related home office salaries as a fringe benefit, and in total, fall
below any designated maximums.

Routine and Special Services Net Per Diem =

Nursing Facilities Net Per Diem =

TN No.:_12-003 .SEF -§ 201

Supersedes Approval Date: Effective Date:_02-01-2012
TN Na » OA.071
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(Historical Routine and Special Services (Scheduie B, Lines 5 plus 7,
Column 4) divided by (Total Patient Days, Schedule A, Line 13,
Column 8); for Nursing Facilities, the resulting per diem amount is
divided by a case mix index score as determined by the Division for all
residents in the facility during the base period, the cost reporting
period identified in Section 1002.2. The method by which a case mix
index score 18 calculated is described in Supplement 3 to Attachment
4.19-D (Uniform Chart of Accounts, Cost Reporting, Reimbursement
Principles and Other Reporting Requirements) of of this Attachment.

ICF-MR Net Per Diem =

(Histortcal ICF-MR Routine and Special Services (Schedule B, Lines
6 plus 7, Column 4) divided by (Total ICF-MR Patient Days, Schedule
A, Line 13, Column 8).

When costs for State Distinct Part Nursing Facilities can be identified,
be they routine services or special services, the costs will be allocated
as identified. Where costs have not been identified, the patient days
method will be used to allocate costs. The example below shows the
treatment of these costs:

Total Routine Services Costs, (Medicaid Cost Report)

Schedule B, Line 6, Column 4 $5,000,000

Patient Days

Total Medicaid ICF MR Patient Days (Medicaid Cost

Report

: $

Schedule A, Line 13, Sum of Columns 4, 5, and 6): 40,000 80%

Total Medicaid NF Patient Days (Medicaid Cost

Report
$

Schedule A, Line 13, Sum of Columns 4, 5, and 6): 10,000 20%
$

Total Patient Days: 50,000 100%

Allocation

Routine Services Cost allocated to ICF-MR (Schedule B, Line 6,
Column 4 is $5,000,000 x 80% = $4,000,000)

Routine Services Cost allocated to NF (Schedule B, Line 6, Column 4
is $5,000,000 x 20% = $1,000,000

Dietary Net Per Diem =

SEP -6 2017

Approval Date: Effective Date:_02-01-2012
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Historical Dietary, Schedule B, Line 8, Column 4, Divided By Total
Patient Days.

Laundry and Housekeeping and Operation and Maintenance of Plant
Net Per Diem =

Historical Laundry, Housekeeping, Operation and Maintenance of
Plant, Schedule B, Lines 9 plus 10, Column 4, Divided By Total
Patient Days.

Administrative and General Net Per Diem =

Historical Administrative and General, Schedule B, Line 11, Column
4, Divided By Total Patient Days.

Property and Related Net Per Diem =

Rev. 07/01/2010 Historical Property and Related costs (Schedule B (Medicaid Cost
Report), Line 12, Column 4) are divided By Total patient Days. The
resulting net per diem will be adjusted to the greater of the facilities
Dodge Rate, or the approved property reimbursement per diem in
effect as of July 1, 2009, or the Fair Rental Value System per diem
rate. Property reimbursement under FRVS will replace use of the
Dodge index over a three year period beginning July 1, 2009, FRV
reimbursement beginning July 1, 2009, shall not increase by more than
150% of the amount that would have been paid using the Dodge index
alone or the approved property reimbursement per diem in effect on
June 30, 2009. After three years FRV will replace the property
component determined by the Dodge index and any otherwise
previously approved property reimbursement per diem.

The Return on Equity Percent is 0% for all facilities.

b. Standard Per Diem for each of the five cost centers (Routine and
Rev.07/2010 Special Services; Dietary; Laundry and Housekeeping and Operation
and Maintenance of Plant; Administrative and General; and Property
and Related) is determined after facilities with like characteristics
concerning a particular cost center are separated into distinct groups.
Once a group has been defined for a particular cost center, facilities in
a group shall be ordered by position number from one to the number of
facilities in the group, arranged by Net Per Diem from the lowest
(Number "1") to the highest dollar value Net Per Diem. The number
of facilities in the applicable group shall be multiplied by the
Maximum Percentile, or 2 median net per diem may be chosen, with

Rev 07/2004

TN No.:_12:003 SEP -6 2012

Supersedes Approval Date: Effective Date:_02-01.2012
TN No.:_06-021
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the Maximum Cost per day being determined as a percentage of the
median.

The Maximum Cost per day for the Administrative and General costs
of all nursing facilities eligible for an efficiency incentive payment is
105% of the median cost per day within each peer group. The
Maximum Percentile is the eighty-fifth for Laundry and Housekeeping
and Operation and Maintenance of Plant cost centers. The Maximum
Percentile is the ninetieth percentile for the Routine Services and
Special Services, and the Property and Related cost centers. For the
Dietary cost center, the Maximum Percentile is the sixtieth percentile
for the Hospital-Based Nursing Facility group and the ninetieth
percentile for the Free Standing Nursing Facility group and the
Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded group. If the
Maximum Percentile does not correspond to a specific value in the
array of net per diem amounts, the maximum percentile is determined
by interpolation (i.e., finding the mid-point between whole integers).

The grouping will be done using Net Per Diem for each cost center
that has been reported by the facility, and calculated by the Division ..
Standards effective February 1,2012, will not be recalculated based
upon changes in rates due to subsequent determination of additional
allowable cost, disallowance of previously allowable cost or any
change in the Net Per Diem int any cost center. The following
examples show groupings by Net Per Diem:

Routine and Special Services Maximum Percentile at 90%

Nursing Home Net Per Diem for 10 nursing homes from lowest to
highest:

$60, $95, $95, $100, $115, §120, $120, $130, $135, §140
Maximum Percentile Standard Determination
(10 net per diems) X (90™ percentile) = 9™ position or $135

Administrative and General Maximum Cost at 105% of Median

Nursing Home Net Per Diems for 11 nursing homes from lowest to
highest:

$90, §95, $95, $100, $115, $120, $120, $130, $135, $140, $150

Maximum Cost Standard Determination at 105% of Median

SEP - 6 2012

Approval Date: Effective Date:_(2-01-2012
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Median Net Per Diem is the per diem amount that falls in the middle
of the group or $120
$120 x 105% =$126

Administrative and General Maximum Cost at 105% of Median

(Interpolation)

Nursing Home Net Per Diems for 10 nursing homes from lowest to
highest:

$90, 895, §95, $100, $115, $120, $120, $130, $135, $140

Maximum Cost Standard Determination at 105% of Median

Median Net Per Diem is the average of the two middle net per diem
amounts that fall in the middle of the group ($115 + $120/2 = $118)

$118 x 105% = $124

There are several instances where a facility could fall in more than
one group. Intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded which
are also nursing facilities are classified as intermediate care facilities
for the mentally retarded and not grouped with other nursing facilities.

For the purpose of determining the Standard Per Diem and the
Allowed Per Diem for each cost center, a facility 1s grouped according
to the type facility (e.g., nursing facility, hospital-based nursing
facility, or intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded) it is as
of the date the Standard Per Diem is calculated.

If a facility changes classification to hospital-based or grouping on
January | through June 30 of any calendar year, it will be grouped into
its new category for reimbursement purposes for dates of services July
1 of that year and thereafter. If a facility changes classification as
described above on July 1 through December 31 of any calendar year,
regrouping will occur from January 1 of the following year.

Routine and Special Services Standard Per Diem

For this Standard Per Diem, all nursing facilities shall be grouped as
follows:

Nursing Facility

Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded

SEP -6 2012

Approval Date: Effective Date:_02-01-2012
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Dietary Standard Per Diem

For this Standard Per Diem, all nursing facilities shall be grouped as
follows:

Free Standing Nursing Facility
Hospital-Based Nursing Facility
Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded

Laundry and Housekeeping and Operation and Maintenance of Plant
Standard Per Diem

For this Standard Per Diem, all nursing facilities shall be grouped as
follows:

Nursing Facility
Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded

Administrative and Generall Standard Per Diem

For this Standard Per Diem, all nursing facilities shall be grouped as
follows:

Nursing Facility
Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded

Property and Related Standard Per Diem

Rev 07/01/2010 Costs for property taxes and property insurance as defined in the Uniform
Chart of Accounts, are calculated separately and are not subject to
property-related cost center Standard Per Diem.

Rev. 07/01/2010 c. The Efficiency Per Diem represents the summation of the Efficiency
Per Diem for each of the five cost centers. If the Net Per Diem is
equal to or exceeds the Standard Per Diem in any cost center, or if the
Net Per Diem is equal to or less than 15% of the Standard Per Diem,
the Efficiency Per Diem for the cost center is zero ($0.00). If the Net
Per Diem is less than the Standard Per Diem in any cost center, and if
the Net Per Diem is more than 15% of the Standard Per Diem, the
Efficiency Per Diem for the cost center is calculated by subtracting the
Net Per Diem from the Standard Per Diem for that cost center and then
multiplying the difference by .75. The product represents the

TN No._12-003 SEP -6 2012

Supersedes Approval Date: Effective Date:_02-0}-2012
TN No.:_06-021
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Efficiency Per Diem for that cost center subject to the following
maximums which have been established through legislative authority:

Routine and Special Services
Maximum Efficiency Payment ' $0.53

Dietary Maximum Efficiency Payment $0.22
Laundry and Housekeeping and Operation and Maintenance of Plant
Maximum

Efficiency Payment $0.41

Administrative and General Maximum
Efficiency Payment $0.37

Property and Related Maximum
Efficiency Payment $0.40

1002.3 Total Allowed Per Diem Billine Rate For Facilities For Which A Cost

Report or Case Mix Score Cannot Be Used To Set A Billing Rate

If the Division determines that a cost report cannot be used to set a billing
rate the per diem rate will be established, as follows:

a.

When changes in ownership occur, new owners will receive the prior
owner’s per diem until a cost report basis can be used to establish a
new per diem rate. (See Supplement 3 to Attachment 4.19-D).

Newly enrolled facilities will be reimbursed the lower of: projected
costs; or 90% of the appropriate cost center ceilings, plus a growth
allowance and the appropriate Property and Related Net Per Diem
until a cost report is submitted which can be used to establish a rate.

In all other instances (except as noted below for newly constructed
facilities) where the Division determines that a cost report cannot be
used to set a reimbursement rate, the Total Allowed Per Diem Billing
Rate will be resolved as described in the provisions discussed below
for unauditable cost reports.

The Total Allowed Per Diem Billing Rate for facilities with more than
50 beds determined by the Division to be newly constructed facilities
is equal to 95% of the four Non-Property and Related Standard Per
Diem amounts plus the appropriate growth aliowance and Property
and Related Net Per Diem.

SEP -6 2012
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The Property and Related Net Per Diem referred to in subsections (a)
through (c) above is equal to either the Fair Rental Value Rate as
determined under Section 1002.5(a) through (g)

. In all other instances where the Division determines that a cost report

cannot be used to set a reimbursement rate, the Total Allowed Per
Diem Billing Rate will be resolved as described in the provisions
discussed below for unauditable cost reports. If the Division
determines that a cost report which was to be used to set a
reimbursement rate is unauditable (i.e., the Division’s auditors cannot
render an opinion using commonly accepted auditing practices on the
filed cost report, either on the desk review or on-site audit), or
unreliable (See Supplement 3 to Attachment 4.19-D), the Division
may reimburse the facility the lower of the following:
The last Total Allowed Per Diem Billing Rate issued prior to the
reimbursement period to be covered by the unauditable cost report;
The Total Allowed Per Diem Billing Rate calculated from the
unauditable cost report; or
The Total Allowed Per Diem Billing Rate calculated according to 90%
of the four Non-Property and Related Standard Per Diem amounts
plus the appropriate growth allowance and Property and Related
Net Per Diem.

Once a cost report becomes auditable and appropriate, the Total
Allowed Per Diem Billing Rate will then be calculated using the
audited cost report as a basis. The resulting reimbursement rate will
then be applied to the appropriate period.

Effective April 1, 1982, the Property and Related cost center
reimbursement for those facilities whose-cost reimbursement is limited
to the Standard (90th percentile) Per Diem in this cost center will be
based upon the Standard Per Diem calculated from the cost reports for
the year ending June 30, 1681,

If a case mix score cannot be determined for a facility, the average
score for all facilities may be used in a rate calculation. If a facility’s
number of MDS assessments for Medicaid patients in a quarter is
limited so as to make the resulting average case mix score unreliable
for rate calculations, the Department may elect to use the average
score for all facilities.

Rev. 07/01/07 1002.4 Other Rate Adjustments

Quality Improvement Initzative Program
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Facilities must enroll in the Quality Improvement Program to receive the
following incentives:

a.

A staffing adjustment equal to 1% of the Allowed Per Diem for Routine
and Special Services may be added to a facility’s rate. To qualify for such
a rate adjustment, a facility’s Nursing Hours and Patient Days Report must
demonstrate that the facility meets the minimum staffing requirements
presented in section 1003.1

For the most recent calendar quarter for which MDS information is
available, Cognitive Performance Scale (CPS) scores for Medicaid
patients will be measured, as determined by the Division. An adjustment
factor may be applied to a facility’s Routine and Special Services Allowed
Per Diem based on the percentage of Medicaid patients whose CPS scores
are moderately severe to very severe. The adjustment factors are as
follows:

% of Medicaid Patients Adjustment Factor
<20% 0%
20% - <30% 1%
30% - <45% 2.5%
45% - 100% 4.5%

A quality incentive adjustment may be added to a facility’s rate utilizing
the following set of indicators.

1.  Clinical Measures:

The source of data is the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(CMS ) website. Each measure is worth 1 point if the facility-specific
value s in excess of the statewide average.

(a) Percent of High Risk Long-Stay Residents Who Have
Pressure Sores.

{b) Percent of Long-Stay Residents Who Were Physically
Restrained.

(c) Percent of Long-Stay Residents Who Have Moderate to
Severe Pain.

{(d) Percent of Short-Stay Residents Who had Moderate to Sever
Pain.

(e) Percent of Residents Who Received Influenza Vaccine.

(H) Percent of Low Risk Long-Stay Residents Who Have
Pressure Sores.

2. Alternative Clinical Measures:

SEP -6 2002
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Facilities that do not generate enough data to report on the CMS website
{due to not meeting the minimum number of assessments for a reporting in
a quarter) will use the following measures from the My InnerView (MIV)
Quality Profile. The values used from MIV Quality Profile will be
compared to the MIV Georgia average values for those measures. Each
measure is worth [ point if the facility-specific value is in excess of the
MIV Georgia average.

(a) Chronic Care Pain — Residents without unplanned weight
loss/gain.

{b} PAC Pain —~ Residents without antipsychotic medication use.

(c) High Risk Pressure Ulcer — Residents without acquired
pressure ulcers.

(d) Physical Restraints — Residents without acquired restraints.

(e) Vaccination: Flu - Residents without falls.

(H Low Risk Pressure Ulcer ~ Residents without acquired
catheters.

3. Non Clinical Measures:
Fach measure is worth 1 point as described.

(a) Participation in the Employee Satisfaction Survey.

(b) Most Current Family Satisfaction Survey Score for *“Would
you recommend this facility?” Percentage of combined
responses either “excellent” or “good” to meet or exceed the
state average of 85% combined.

(c) Quarterly average for RNs/LVNs/LPNs Stability (retention)
to meet or exceed the state average.

(d) Quarterly average for CNAs/NA Stability (retention) to meet
or exceed the state average.

To qualify for a quality incentive adjustment equal to 1% of the Allowed
Per Diem for Routine and Special Services for the most recent calendar
quarter, the facility must obtain a minimum of three (3) points in the
following combination: One (1) point must come from clinical measures,
one (1) point from the non-clinical measure, and a third point from either
the clinical or non-clinical measures.

To quality for a quality incentive adjustment equal to 2% of the Allowed
Per Diem for Routine and Special Services, for the most recent calendar
quarter, the facility must obtain a minimum of six (6) points in the
following combination: Three (3) points must come from the clinical
measures, one (1) point from the non-clinical measures, and two (2) points
from either the clinical or non-clinical measures.

TN No.._12-003 SEp -4 2012
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Rev 4/08 NOTE: Facilities placed on the Special Focus List generated by CMS will not earn
the DCH 1%, Quality Incentive until the following conditions have been met:

e The facilities next standard survey and/or compliant survey ,after being
placed on the list, does not have a deficiency cited over Level E scope and
severity; and

o The facilities second standard survey and /or compliant survey , after being
placed on the list, does not have a deficiency cited over Level E scope and
severity; or

o If the facility is removed from the speciai focus list by CMS for any other
reason

Rev. 07/01/2010
1002.5 Property and Related Reimbursement

1.  Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2009, the Property
and Related Net Per Diem shall be the higher of: (i) such Per Diem
being paid as of June 30, 2009 (based on the Dodge index); or (ii)
the amount computed using the fair rental value (FRV)
reimbursement system described below. Property reimbursement
under FRV will replace use of the Dodge index over a three year
period beginning July 1, 2009. FRV reimbursement beginning July
1, 2009, shall not increase by more than 150% of the amount that
would have been paid using the Dodge index alone., but will also be
no less than the amount based on the Dodge index or the approved
property reimbursement per diem in effect on June 30, 2009. After
three vears FRV will replace the property component determined by
the Dodge index and previously approved property reimbursement
per diems. Under a FRV system, a facility reimbursed on the basis
of the established current value of its capital assets in lieu of direct
reimbursement for depreciation, amortization, interest, and rent/lease
expenses. The FRV system shall establish a nursing facility’s bed
value based on the age of the facility, its location, and its total square
footage.

2. The Property and Related Net Per Diem initially established under
the FRV System shall be calculated as follows:

{a) Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2009, the
value per square foot shall be based on the $141.10
construction cost for nursing facilities, as derived from the
2009 RSMeans Building Construction cost data for Nursing
Homes (national index for open shop construction). The
Value per Square Foot shall be adjusted by using the
RSMeans Location factors based on the facility’s zip code
as well as by a Construction Cost Index which is initially
set at 1.000. The resulting product is the Adjusted Cost per
Square Foot.

TN No.:_12-003 SEP - ¢ 2082
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A Facility Replacement Value is calculated by multiplying
the Adjusted Cost per Square Foot by the Allowed Total
Square Footage. The latter figure is the lesser of a nursing
facility’s actual square footage (computed using the gross
footage method) compared to the number of licensed beds
times 700 square feet (the maximum allowed figure per
bed).

An Equipment Value is calculated by multiplying the
number of licensed beds by $6,000 (the amount allowed per
bed) and by an initial Equipment Cost Index of 1.000.

A Depreciated Replacement Value is calculated by
depreciating the sum of the Facility Replacement Value and
the Equipment Value. The amount depreciated is
determined by multiplying the Adjusted Facility Age
discussed in all of Section 1002.5(5), by a 2% Facility
Depreciation Rate. The Initial Adjusted Facility Age will
be the lesser of the calculated facility age or 25 years.

The Land Value of a facility is calculated by multiplying
the Facility Replacement Value by 15% to approximate the
cost of the land.

A Rental Amount is calculated by summing the facility’s
Depreciated Replacement Value and the Land Value and
multiplying the figure by a Rental Rate which 15 9.0%
effective July 1, 2009.

The Annual Rental Amount is divided by the greater of the
facility’s actual cumulative resident days during the 2006
cost reporting period or 85% of the licensed bed capacity of
the facility multiplied by 365. The resulting figure
constitutes the Property and Related Net Per Diem
established under the FRV system.

An example of how the Property and Related Net Per Diem is calculated is
presented in the following table.

SEP -6 20%
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Example Calculation of Initial Fair Rental Value Per Diem

Ref. Data Element Example Data
XYZ Nursing

A Facility Name Home

B Medicaid Provider ID 12345678A

C Rate Setting Year 2009

D Adjusted Base Year 1989

E Licensed Nursing Facility Beds 138

F Nursing Facility Square Footage 68,857

G Nursing Facility Zip Code 30,312

H Total Patient Days 48,552

1 Per Bed Square Footage Limit 700

] Maximum Allowed Square Footage 96,600

K Allowed Total Square Footage 68,857

L Rate Year RSMeans Cost per Square Foot $141.10

M  RSMeans Location Factor 0.9

N Construction Cost Index 1

O Adjusted Cost per Square Foot $126.99

P Facility Replacement Value 8,744,150

Q Equipment Allowance 6,000

R Equipment Cost Index 1

S Equipment Value $828,000.00

T Facility Value Excluding Land $9,572,150.00

U Bed Additions and Facility Renovations

A% Nursing Facility Age

W Maximum Years for FRV Age

TN No.:_12-003

Supersedes Approval Date:
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25
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Source of Data

Department Data
Department Data
Department Criteria
Department Data
Department Data
Department Data
Department Data
Department Data
Department Criteria
ExI

lesser of F or J

RSMeans lookup based
on Rate Year

RSMeans lookup based
on Zip Code (G)
Department Criteria
LxMxN

Kx0O

Department Criteria
Department Criteria
ExQxR

P+8

Separate calculations
affecting the Nursing
Facility

(see D and V)

C-D (D is based on
initial age adjusted by
additions/renovations per
U)

Department Criteria

Effective Date:_02-01-2012



Supplement £ 10 Attachment 4.19-D
Page 20
State: GEORGIA

Example Source of Data
20 lesserof VorW
2.00% Department Criteria
$3,828,860.00 TxXxY

$5,743,290.00 T-Z

15.00% Department Criteria
$1.311,623.00 Px AB
$7,054,913.00 AA +AC

9.00% Department Criteria

Supplement 2 to Attachment 4.19-D
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48,552 Higher of H or AH
$13.08 AF/AI

Department Data (Dodge
$5.43 Index)

Greater of AJ or AK, but
not more than 150%
$13.08 increase of AK

3. The Property and Related Net Per Diem initially established under
Section 1002.5(2) shall be updated annually on July 1, effective for
dates of service on or after July 1, 2010 as follows:

(a)  The value per square foot shall be based on the construction
cost for nursing facilities, as derived from the most recent
RSMeans Building Construction cost data available on
June 1% of each year. The Value per Square Foot shall be
adjusted by using the RSMeans Location factors based on
the facility’s zip code and by using a cost index to
correspond to annual state appropriations,

(b) A complete facility replacement, which includes either
relocating to a newly constructed facility or gutting a
complete facility and rebuilding it, will result in a new base
year correlating to the date in which the facility went into
operation. All partial replacements will be treated as
renovations and will have their base year adjusted based on
the methodology proscribed for a renovation.

4. A Renovation Construction Project shall mean a capital
expenditure (as defined in Section 1002.5(4a)) that exceeds $500
per existing licensed bed and has been filed with the Office of
Health Planning as a New Construction Project under the authority
of Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 290-5-8:

Ref. Data Element
X FRV Adjusted Facility Age
Y Facility Depreciation Rate
Z Depreciation Using FRV Adjusted Age
AA  Depreciated Replacement Value
AB Land Percentage
AC  Land Value
AD  Depreciated Replacement Value & Land
AE  Rental Rate
AF  Rental Amount
AG Minimum Occupancy Percentage
A Bed Days at Minimum Occupancy
Al Total Allowed Patient Days
AJ  Fair Rental Value per Diem
06/30/09 Property and Related Net Per
AK  Diem
AL  Property and Related Net Per Diem
TN No.:_12-003
Supersedes Approval Date:
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a. Allowable capital expenditures include the costs of
buildings, machinery, fixtures, and fixed equipment (see
Table 5 in Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital
Assets) Revised 2008 Edition), published by Health Forum,
Inc., for a complete listing of allowable items) constituting
any New Construction Project as referenced in paragraph 4
above. The exception, to this requirement 1s for
telemedicine terminals, solar panels, tankless water heaters,
and low flow toilets. Capital expenditures are asset
acquisitions that meet the criteria of §108.1 of the Provider
Reimbursement Manual ({CMS-15-1) or are betterments or
improvements which meet the criteria of §108.2 of the
Provider Reimbursement Manual (CMS-15-1) or which
materially (a) expand the capacity, (b) reduce the operating
and maintenance costs, (c) significantly improve safety, or
(d) promote energy conservation.

5. For purposes of the FRV calculation, the age of the facility shall be
determined as follows:

(a) The mitial age of each facility shall be determined as of
July 1, 2009, comparing 2009 to the later of the facility’s
year of construction or the year the building was first
licensed as a nursing facility; provided, however, that such
age will be reduced for Construction Projects, or bed
additions that occurred subsequent to the initial
construction or conversion of the facility, but prior to July
1, 2009.

(b)  For periods subsequent to July 1, 2009, the FRV adjusted
age determined in Section 1002.5(52) of a facility will be
reduced on a quarterly basis to reflect new Renovation
Construction Projects or bed additions that were completed
after July 1, 2009, and placed into service during the
preceding quarter. The rate adjustment for Renovation
Projects or bed additions will be effective the first day of
the calendar quarter subsequent to such project being
completed and placed into service.

{c) Once initial rates are established under the FRYV
reimbursement system, subsequent calculations of the FRV
adjusted age will be determined by subtracting the adjusted
base vear (derived by calculating the impact of bed
additions and facility renovations) from the rate setting
year. The FRV adjusted age will be recalculated each July
| to make the facility one year older, up to the maximum
age of 32.5 years and will be done in concert with the
calculations of the Value per Square Foot as determined in

TN No.._12-003 SEP -8 2012
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Section 1002.5(3a). Age adjustments and Rate adjustments
are not synonymous.

If a facility has added beds, the age of these additional beds
will be averaged in with the age of the remaining beds, and
the weighted average age of all beds will be used as the
facility’s age. An example of how an addition would
reduce the age of the facility is presented in the following
table:

Example Calculation of the Impact of an Addition on a Nursing Facility's Base Year

Ref. Data Element Example Source of Data
Data

A Facility Name XYZ Nursing Home Department Data

B Medicaid Provider ID 12345678A Department Data

C Year Bed Additions were Completed 1981 Department Criteria
Based on Initial Age
adjusted by Prior Bed
Additions and Facility

D Base Year Prior to Additions 1970 Renovations

E Existing Beds prior to Bed Additions 130 Department Data

F Number of Beds Added 8 Department Data

Age of Existing Beds when Additions

G were Completed 11 C-D

D Adjusted Base Year 1989 Department Data

E Licensed Nursing Facility Beds 138 Department Data

F Nursing Facility Square Footage 68857 Department Data

G Nursing Facility Zip Code 30312 Department Data

H  Weighted Average of Existing Beds 1430 ExG

Total Beds After Bed Additions were

1 Completed 138 E+F

J Base Year Age Adjustment 1036 H/I

K New Base Year 1,971.00 C -] (rounded)

(e) If a facility performed a Renovation Construction Project as
defined in Section 1002.5(4), the cost of the Project will be
converted fo an equivalent number of replacement beds by
dividing the value of the renovation by the depreciable bed
replacement value,

TN No.:_12-003 SEP -6 2012
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1. The renovation completion date will be used to
determine the year of the renovation.

1. An Age Index factor will be used to calculate a bed
replacement cost for any renovation occurring prior
to July 1, 2009. The Age Index factor is derived by
using the 2009 Edition of the RSMeans and
dividing the Historical Cost Index for 2009.

1. To determine the accumulated depreciation per bed,
2 percent per year will be used for a maximum
number of 25 depreciable years.

" In no case will the consideration of a Renovation Construction
Project reduce the age of the facility to a number less than zero.

An example of how the cost of a Renovation Construction Project
would be converted to an equivalent number of replacement beds
and a new base year is presented in the following table:

Example Calculation of the Impact of a Renovation on a Nursing Facility's Base Year

Ref. Data Element -

Qo o0 W

e

M
N

Facility Name

Medicaid Provider ID

Rate Setting Year

Year Renovation was Completed

Base Year Prior to Renovation
Licensed Number Facility Beds
Facility Square Footage
Nursing Facility Zip Code
Renovation Amount

Renovation Year RSMeans Cost Index

Rate Year RSMeans Cost Index
Facility Age Index Factor

Rate Year RS Means Cost per Square
Foot

Maximum Square Feet per Bed

TN No.:_12-003

Supersedes

Approval Date:

TN No.:_06-021

Example Data

XYZ Nursing Home
12345678A

2009

2003

1981

138

40,060
30442
$372,662.00

132.00

185.90
0.7101

$141.10
700

SEP -6 201

Source of Data

Department Data
Department Data
Department Criteria
Department Data

Based on Initial Age Adjusted
by Prior Bed Addition and
facility Renovations

Department Data
Department Data
Department Data
Department Criteria

RSMeans lookup based on Year
Renovation Completed

RSMeans lookup based on Rate
Year

/K

RSMeans lookup based on Rate
Year

Department Criteria
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O Allowed Facility Square Footage 40,060 Lesser of Gor (F x N}
P Facility Cost Prior to Adjustments $5,652,466.00 Mx O
RSMeans lookup based on Zip
Q RSMeans Location Factor 0.77 Code (H)
R Adjusted Facility Cost $3,090,461.00 PxLxQ
S Age of Beds at Time of Renovation 22 D-E
T Maximum Bed Replacement Years 25 Department Criteria
U Allowed Age of Beds 22 LlesserofSorT
V Initial Aging Depreciation Rate 2.00% Department Criteria
W Allowed Facility Depreciation $1,359,803.00 RxUxV
X  Adjusted Bed Replacement Cost $12,541.00 (R-W)/F
Y New Bed Equivalents ' 29.72 1/ X (but limit is F)
zZ Total Beds to be Weighed 108.28 F-Y
AA  Weighted Average of Beds 2,382.26 ZxS
AB Base Year Age Adjustment 1726 AA/F
AC New Base Year 1986 D - AB (rounded)
1002.6 Qverall Limitations on Total Allowed Per Diem Billing Rate
In no case shall the Total Allowed Per Diem Billing Rate, whether
determined under either Section 1002.2 or Section 1002.3, Nursing
Facility Manual, exceed the facility’s customary charges to the general
public for those services reimbursed by the Division.
1002.7 Payment in Full for Covered Services
The facility must accept as payment in full for covered services the
amount determined in accordance with Section 1002, Nursing Facility
Manual.
1002.8 Adiuétments to Rates
Payment rates for state-owned nursing facilities will be adjusted to 100%
of service costs. This provision will apply in addition to all others in this
chapter and will supersede those that are in direct conflict only to the
extent that they are not capable of simultaneous application.
1003 Additional Care Services
1003.1 Required Nursing Hours
TN No.:_12-003 SEP - 20U
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The minimum required number of nursing hours per patient day for all
nursing facilities is 2.00 actual working hours. The minimum expected
nursing hours are 2.50 to qualify for the 1% add-on. (See 1002.4)

1003.2  Failure to Comply

a. The minimum standard for nursing hours is 2.00.

b. Facilities found not in compliance with the 2.00 nursing hours will be
cited for being out of compliance with a condition of participation.
This will lead to imposition of a civil monetary penalty, denial of
reimbursement for newly admitted patients, or suspension or
termination whichever is appropriate as determined by the Division.

¢. The minimum expected for nursing hours is 2.50 for participation in
the Quality Improvement Program.

1004 Medicare Crossover Claims

The maximum allowable payment for Medicare nursing facility coinsurance
(crossover) claims will be the nursing facility’s Medicaid specific per diem rate in
effect for the dates of service of the crossover claims. The crossover claims will
not be subsequently adjusted due to subsequent per diem rate adjustments. This
section is aiso included in Chapter 1100 of the Manual.

1005 Upper Payment Limit Rate Adjustments for Government Owned or
Operated Nursing Facilities

For payments on or after January 1, 2001, State government —owned or operated
facilities and non-State government owned or operated facilities will be eligible
for rate payment adjustments, subject to the availability of funds. A facility’s
status as government owned or operated will be based on its ability to make direct
or indirect intergovernmental transfer payments to the State. The rate payment
adjustments will be subject to federal upper payment limits and will be based on
amounts that would be paid for services under Medicare payment principles.
These rate payment adjustments will be made on a quarterly basis in a manner
that will not duplicate compensation provided from payments for individual
patient claims.

Rev. 07/01/05
1006 Payments Rates for Patient Leave Days or Bed Hold Days

Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2004, payments for patient leave
days or for bed hold days during a patient’s hospitalization will be made at 75%
of the rate paid for days when a patient is onsite at a facility. Because patient
leave days and bed hold days are not subject to the nursing home provider fee, the
payment rate for patient leave days and bed hold days will exclude any
compensation for the provider fee.
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Nurse Aide Training and Testing Costs

The Division will reimburse nursing facilities, on a full time equivalent (FTE)
basis, up to $738 for each individual who has completed a state-approved training
and competency program for nurse aides. At the facilities request, interim
payments of $.25 per Medicaid patient day will be made quarterly to the facility
to cover the cost of providing nurse aide testing and training.

SEP -6 2012
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PART II, POLICIES AND PROCEDURES FOR
NURSING FACRITY SERVEES

APPENDIXD
UNIFORM CHART OF ACCOUNTS, COSTREPORTING:,
REIMBURSEMENT PRINCIPLES AND OTHER REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

Revised 01/01/2006
General

This Supplement discusses the use of a uniform chart of accounts, the annual submission of a
cost report, the principles of reimbursement which comprise the basis for the financial reporting
requirements of facilities participating in the Georgia Medicaid Program and other reporting
requirements. The Georgia Division of Medical Assistance Uniform Chart of Accounts as
comprised on the date of service is incorporated by reference herein. A copy is available from
the Division upon request. Cost reports and instructions are made available to each facility near
the end of the reporting period. The reimbursement principles discussed in this Supplement are
selected from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Provider Reimbursement Manual
(CMS-15-1). Copies of the Manual, which provide a detailed description of allowable costs, are
available from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services of the U.S. Department of Health
and Human Services. :

1. Uniform Chart of Accounts

The Georgia Division of Medical Assistance requires that all nursing facilities
participating in the Medicaid Program utilize the classification of accounts shown in the
Uniform Chart of Accounts in reporting its financial operations in the cost reporting
system. While it is not mandatory that books of original entry or ledgers be maintained in
accordance with the Uniform Chart of Accounts, facilities are strongly encouraged to do
50. The Uniform Chart of Accounts has been designed to meet management needs for
budgeting information, information flow, internal control, responsibility accounting and
financial reporting. Also, it has been designed in such a manner that accounts may be
added or deleted to tailor the financial information to the facility’s needs.

Should a facility elect to maintain its books of original entry or ledgers in a manner other
than that specified in the Uniform Chart of Accounts, the facility is required to have
available a detailed description of how its accounting system differs. This description of
differences must be used by the facility for converting the output of its reporting system
into the format specified in the Uniform Chart of Accounts. This description of
differences and conversion of reporting information into the proper format are considered
to be essential components of a facility’s accounting records. When such information is
needed but not maintained, a facility’s cost report will be determined to be unacceptable
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for fulfilling reporting requirements and penalties described in Section 2.b and 2.g of this
Supplement will be imposed.

2. Cost Reporting

Reimbursement of expenses incurred by nursing facilities in the provision of care to
Medicaid recipients is accomplished through the mechanism of the cost report. This
document reports historical costs and details recipient occupancy data experienced during
the fiscal year. The following cost reporting requirements apply to providers of nursing
facility services and all home offices who allocate costs to nursing facilities:

a. Each nursing facility must annually file a cost report with the Division of Medical
Assistance which covers a twelve-month period ending June 30th. Cost reports must
be e-mailed to the Division on or before September 30th. (See Hospital-based facility
exception in 2(d) below.)

b. If such cost reports are not filed by September 30th, the Division shall have the option
of either terminating the provider agreement upon thirty days written notice or
imposing a penalty of $50.00 per day for the first thirty days and a penalty of $100.00
per day for each day thereafter until an acceptable cost report is received by the
Division. The only condition in which a penalty will not be imposed is if written
approval for an extension is obtained from the Program Manager of Nursing Home
Reimbursement Services prior to September 30,

c. If a cost report is received by the Division prior to September30th but is
unacceptable, it will be returned to the facility for proper completion. No penalty will
be imposed if the properly completed report is filed by the September 30th deadline.
However, the above described penalties may be imposed after the September 30th
deadline until an acceptable cost report is received by the Division.

d. Hospital-based facilities using Medicare fiscal year ending dates between July and
April must submit cost reports to the Division on or before September 30. Facilities
using fiscal year ending dates between May and June must submit cost reports on or
before November 30. The financial information to be included on the Medicaid cost
report must be taken in total from the provider’s most recent Medicare cost report that
precedes June 30. The rules regarding unacceptability and timeliness described above
in sections b. and c. also apply to hospital-based facilities” cost reports.

Approval for extensions beyond the September 30 or November 30 deadline, where
applicable, will be granted only if the provider’s operations are "significantly
adversely affected" because of circumstances beyond the provider’s control (i.e., a
flood or fire that causes the provider to halt operations). Each provider must submit a
written request specifying the hospital-based facility and the reason for the extension.

e. To be acceptable, a cost report must be complete and accurate, include all applicable
schedules, and be correctly internally cross- referenced. Further, the amount per book
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column for Schedules B and C must agree with the amounts recorded in the facility’s
general ledger; however, there may have to be certain groupings of the general ledger
amounts to agree with the cost report line items. Estimated amounts used for a
conversion to a June 30th year-end are not acceptable. Reported costs of interest paid
to non-related parties must be reduced by non-related parties must be reduced by an
amount equal to the lesser of: (1) interest paid to non-related parties; or (2)
investrnent income other than the exceptions identified in CMS-15, Section 202.2.
Reported costs of special services must be reduced, as indicated on Schedule B-1A,
by an amount resulting from revenue received from sources other than the Division
for these services.

Adjustments will be based on auditable records of charges to all patients as required
by cost report instructions.

Rev 07/07, f.  Any changes to the amount of or classification of reported costs and patient day

10/07 information must be made within 30 days after the applicable September 30",
November 30%, or approved extended submission deadline. Amended cost reports
submitted after these deadlines will not be accepted unless they have been requested
by the Division. If the original cost report is used to set reimbursement rates, the
provider has up to 30 days from the implementation of the original cost report to
request changes to the amount of or classification of reported costs and patient day
information in accordance with the appeal procedures outlined in Supplement 4 of
Attachment 4.19-D (Billing rate and Disaliowance of Cost from the Cost Report).
Adjustments to amounts or changes in classification of reported costs in prior years
will not be considered.

g. Late cost report penalties will be invoiced through the Accounting Section of the
Division for the total amount of the assessed penalty. The provider must submit
payment to the Division. Penalties not properly paid will be deducted from the
monthly reimbursement check. The assessments will not be refunded.

h. New facilities, which have less than twelve but not less than six months of actual
operating cost experience, will only subrmit cost data for their actual months of
operation as of June 30. New facilities that have less than six months of actual
operating cost experience are not required to submit a cost report. Facilities in which
there has been a change of ownership must submit a separate report for each owner.
The subsequent owner will be reimbursed based on the previous owner’s cost report
(with an adjustment in the property cost center only) until a new cost report is
received from the new owner and determined reliable and appropriate. The Division
will determine whether each submitted cost report is appropriate and reliable as a
basis for computing the Allowed Per Diem billing rate and may calculate a facility’s
Allowed Per Diem billing rate in accordance with Supplement 2 of Attachment 4.19-
D, Section 1002.3,

For ownership changes effective with at least six months of patient day data on the
applicable June 30 fiscal year cost report, the initially submitted cost report will be
used to establish the new owner’s rdte when the comparable cost reports are used to
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set rates. For the periods prior to the use of the new owner’s cost report, the new
owner will receive rates based on the previous owner’s approved cost report data,
with the appropriate Fair Rental Value property reimbursement rate. If the new
owner’s initial cost report contains less than six months of patient day data, when the
initial cost report period reports are used to set rates, the new owner will receive a
rate based on the previous owner’s last approved cost report inflated to current costs,
as determined by the Division, or the costs from the new owner’s initial cost report,
whichever is lower. If the ownership change is between related parties, when the
initial cost report period reports are used to set rates, the old owner’s cost report and
new owner’s cost report for the year of the ownership change may be combined and
considered in determining the minimum rate for the new owner,

i. Reported costs must conform to Divisional instructions, or in the absence of specific
mstructions, to the allowable costs discussed in the CMS-15-1. Reported costs are
subject to audit verification by the Division, State or Federal auditors or their agents.
Providers using computertzed mformation systems for accounting or other purposes
must make this information available in a suitable electronic format if requested by
the Division or its agents. Where such audit verifications determine that the cost
report was prepared based upon inadequate accounting records, the facility will be
required to correct its records and submit a corrected cost report. A penalty will be
imposed on the facility for the costs incurred by the Division for any additional audit
work performed with the corrected cost report.

j. For audit examinations described in (i) above, it is expected fhat a facility’s
accounting records will be available within the State. Should such records be
maintained at a location outside the State, the facility will be required to pay for travel
costs incurred for any examination conducted at the out-of-state location.

k. Should a cost report submitted to the Nursing Home Unit for review need explanation
or clarification, appropriate work papers or letters of explanation should be attached.

Rev. 07/06

1. All cost reports are to be emailed to nheostreport@dch.ga.gov. Correspondence
concerning the cost reports may be mailed to the following address:

Program Manager

Nursing Home Services Unit

39" Floor

Division of Financial Management
2 Peachtree Street, N.-W.

Atlanta, GA 30303-3159

3. Reimbursement Principles

The objective of a system of reimbursement based on reasonable costs is to reimburse the
institution for its necessary and proper expenses incurred related to patient care. As a matter
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of general reimbursement principle, costs with respect to individuals covered by the Medicaid
Program will not be borne by those not covered and costs with respect to individuals not
covered by the Medicaid Program will not be borne by the Program. The principles of cost
reimbursement require that institutions maintain sufficient financial records and statistical
data for proper determination of costs payable under the Program. Such records and data must
be maintained for a period of at least three years following the date of submission of the cost
report ' '

4, Case Mix Index Reports

a.

MDS Data for Quarterly Patient Listing - Using Minimum Data Set (MDS)
mnformation submitted by a facility, the Division will prepare a Case Mix Index
Report, listing information for patients in a facility on the last day of a calendar
quarter. A preliminary version of the report will be distributed to a nursing facility
about the middle of the following quarter after each calendar quarter end. The
preliminary version of the report will be distributed with instructions regarding
corrections to patient payer source information that a nursing facility may submit for
consideration before the final version of the report is prepared and distributed.

RUG Classification - For each patient included in the quarterly Case Mix Index
Report, the most recent MDS assessment will be used to determine a Resource
Utilization Group (RUG) classification. Version 5.12, with 34 grouper and index
maximizer, the RUG classification system will be used to determine a patient’s RUG
category.

Payer Source - For each patient included in the quarterly Case Mix Index Report, a
payer source will be identified. As described in section D.4.a, a facility will have the
opportunity to submit updated payer source information for changes that may ocecur
by the last day of the calendar quarter.

Retative Weights and Case Mix Index Scores for All Patients - For each patient
included in the quarterly Case Mix Index Report, a relative weight will be assigned
by the Division. Exhibit D-1-identifies the relative weights for each RUG category.
This data will be used to determine a case mix score for all patients in a facility.
Relative Weights and Case Mix Index Scores for Medicaid Patients - For each
Medicaid patient included in the quarterly Case Mix Index Report, a Medicaid
relative weight will be assigned by the Division. Exhibit D-1 identifies the relative
weights for each RUG category. This data will be used to determine a case mix score
for Medicaid patients in a facility.

CPS Scores - For each patient included in the quarterly Case Mix Index Report, the
most recent MDS assessment will be used to determine a Cognitive Performance
Scale (CPS) score.

Corrections to MDS and Payer Source Information Corrections to MDS and payer
source information used in payment rate calculations applicable to prior dates of
service that result from appeals or audit adjustments may be processed as adjustments
to rate calculations in a subsequent period. If the impact of the correction is
significant, the Division may elect to process the correction by a retrospective
adjustment to prior payments.

5. Nursing Hours and Patient Dav Report
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Except for ICF-MR’s, each nursing facility must submit a Nursing Hours and Patient Day
Report for each calendar quarter, within one month after the end of the quarter. The
required information will be submitted in accordance with a format and instructions as
distributed by the Division. A facility’s request to correct or amend a nursing home
provider fee report will be limited to a 30 day period following the report’s due date.
Corrections to nursing hours and patient day data used in payment rate calculations
applicable to prior dates of service that result from appeals or audit adjustments may be
processed as adjustments to rate calculations in a subsequent period. If the impact of the
cotrection is significant, the Division may elect to process the correction by a
retrospective adjustment to prior payments.

If a facility does not submit a report or does not submit a report when due, a late fee of
$10 per day may be assessed.

Rev (#7/01/2010
Rev 01/01/2011

6.

TN No.:_12-003
Supersedes
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Fair Rental Value System

A request for a fair rental value rate increase that is the result of a Renovation
Construction Project, bed addition or replacement subsequent to JTuly 1, 2009,
must be submitted to the Department within thirty (30) days after completion of
the project. The request must be completed on a standard form for rate requests
and contain documented approval of the project from the Department’s General
Counsel Division.

Each facility must go through the following process before submitting for a fair rental
value rate increase:

a. If the Fair Rental Value Property rate increase being requested is due to a
Renovation Construction Project, bed addition or replacement, the Georgia
Certificate of Need Request for Determination form must be completed and
submitted to the Division of Health Planning. Once approval for the
Renovation Construction Project has been received from Health Planning, the
provider may proceed with the project.

b. Within thirty (30) days after completion of the project, complete the Initial
Start Up And Fair Rental Value System Reimbursement (FRVS) Update
Request Form, attach a copy of the letter received from the Division of Health
Planning and documentation to support the Renovation Construction Project,
bed addition or replacement. Mail a complete package to:

Program Manager

Department of Community Health
Nursing Home Reimbursement Services
2 Peachtree Street, N'W.

39" Floor

SEP -6 201
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Atlanta, Ga. 30303

An electronic version of the Initial Start Up And Fair Rental Value System
Reimbursement (FRVS) Update Request Form should also be emailed to
FRVS(@dch.ga.gov.

The Fair Rental Value Property rate increase will be effective the quarter following the
completion of the approved Renovation Construction Project, bed addition or
replacement and receipt of the completed Initial Start Up And Fair Rental Value System
Reimbursement (FRVS) Update Request Form package.
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EXHIBIT D-1

$iClassification

1 |Extensive | Exteive Speial Care 3/ ADL > 6 S3 2.839 2.896

2 |Extensive Extensive Special Care 2/ ADL > 6 SE2 2.316 2.362

3 {Rehabilitation Rehabilitation All Levels / ADL 17-18 |RAD 2.284 2.330

4 Extensive Extensive Spectal Care 1 / ADL > 6 SEl 1.943 1.982
5 |Rehabilitation Rehabilitation All Levels / ADL 14-16 1RAC| 1.936 1.975
6 |Special Care Special Care/ ADL 17-18 SSC 1.877 1.915
7 \Rehabilitation Rehabilitation All Levels / ADL. 9-13 |RAB| 1.772 1.807
8 |Special Care Special Care/ ADL 15-16 SSB 1.736 1771
9 |Special Care Special Care / ADL 4-14 SSA 1.709 1.743

10 [Rehabilitation Rehabilitation All Levels / ADL 4-8 RAA 1.472 1.501

11 |Clinically Complex |Clinically Complex with Depression/ | CC2 1.425 1.454
ADL 17-18
12 {Clinically Complex [Clinically Complex / ADL 17-18 CCl 1.311 1.337
13 {Chimically Complex [Clinically Complex with Depression/ | CB2 1.247 1.272
ADL 12-16
14 Physical Physical Function with Nursing Rehab /| PE2 1.188 1.212
ADL 16-18
15 |Clinically Complex [Clinically Complex / ADL 12-16 CBI 1.154 1.177
16 |Physical Physical Function with Nursing Rehab /| PD2 1.095 1.117
ADL 11-15
17 |Impaired Cognition |Cognitive Impairment with Nursing IB2 1.061 1.082
TN No.:_12-003 8EP -6 2012
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| Case Mix
Index for

Case Mix

Index for Medicaid

Patients

[Rehab / ADL 610
18 [Clinically Complex |Clinically Complex with Depression/ | CA2 1.043 1.064
ADL 4-11
19 [Physical Reduced Physical Function/ ADL 16- | PE] 1.077 1.077
18
20 {Behavioral Behavior Problem with Nursing Rehab /| BB2 1.021 1.041
Problems ADL 6-10
21 |Physical Reduced Physical Function/ ADL 11- { PDI1 0.990 0.990
15
22 {Impaired Cognition {Cognitive Impairment / ADL 6-10 IB1 0.938 - 0.957
23 Physical Physical Function with Nursing Rehab /| PC2 0.937 0.956
ADL 9-10
24 Clinically Complex |Clinically Complex / ADL 4-11 CAl 0.934 0.953
25 {Behavioral Behavior Problem / ADL 6-10 BBI 0.866 0.883
Problems
26 {Physical Physical Function with Nursing Rehab /| PB2 0.824 0.841
ADL 6-8
27 {Physical Reduced Physical Function / ADL 9-10 | PC1 0.865 0.865
28 |Impaired Cognition |Cognitive Impairment with Nursing IA2 0.777 0.777
Rehab / ADL 4-5
29 |Behavioral Behavior Problem with Nursing Rehab /{ BA2 |  0.750 0.750
Problems ADL 4-5
30 {Physical Reduced Physical Function/ ADL 6-8 | PBI 0.749 (.749
31 [Impaired Cognition |Cognitive Impairment / ADL 4-5 IA1 0.703 6.703
32 {Physical Physical Function with Nursing Rehab /| PA2 0.637 0.637
TN No.:_12-003 SEP -6 2012
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| case mix |

| Index for
Medicaid
Patients
ADL 45
33 ‘Behavioral Behavior Problem / ADL 4-5 BA1l 0612 | 0612
Problems
34 |Physical Reduced Physical Function / ADL 4-3 | PAl 0.575 0.573
TN No._12:003 SEP ~-§ 201
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Exhibit D-2
Detailed Description of Data Presented in Case Mix Index Reports

Selection criteria for quarterly “Listing of Residents” reports — Residents are determined
by identifying individuals for whom an MDS assessment has been received and for
hom no subsequent discharge tracking document has been received. It is assumed that
residents for whom a periodic assessment is more than 3 months past due have been
discharged and these individuals are not included in this report. The following data
elements are selected from the most recent assessment data for patients residing in the
nursing home on the last day of a calendar quarter:

AO310a — Reasons for assessment as reported in section AO310 of the MDS

Section a, primary reason for assessment

1 = admission assessment

2 = quarterly review assessment

3 = annual assessment

4 = significant change in status

5 = significant change to prior comprehensive assessment
6 = significant correction to prior quarterly assessment
99 = not OBRA required assessment

Section b, codes for assessments required for Medicare PPS or the State
I = 5 day scheduled assessment

2 = 14 day scheduled assessment

3 == 30 day scheduled assessment

4 = 60 day scheduled assessment

5 =90 day scheduled assessment

6 = readmission/return assessment

7 = unscheduled assessment used for PPS

99 = not PPS assessment

Resident Name — Self explanatory

SSN- Resident’s social security number

Completion Date (ZO500b) — For assessments, this is the date completed as reported in section
Z0O500b of the MDS. For discharge tracking, this is the date of discharge. For re-entry

tracking, this is the date of re-entry.

RUG Code — RUG classification code (see “Case Mix Index for All Patients” in Exhibit D-
1) from application of 34 grouper with index maximizing

RUG Category — Description of RUG classification (see Exhibit D-1)
TN No.;_12-003 SEP -4 2012
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Resident ID — Identification number assigned to resident by MDS reporting system

Medicaid Cognitive Add-On — Identifies residents with Brief Interview for Mental Status
(BIMS) scores less than or equal to 5. In the absence of BIMS scores, identifies residents with
Cognitive Performance Scale (CPS) scores of moderately severe to very severe.

Payment Source — Primary source of payment for services to residents based on
information included in MDS assessment data. If the MDS data includes a Medicaid
identification number or Medicaid pending designation, Medicaid is assumed to be the
resident’s payment source. If a Medicaid identification number is not present and a
Medicare identification number is present, Medicare is assumed to be the payment
source. If neither a Medicaid nor Medicare identification number is present, the payment
source is identified as “other.” A facility may submit a correction entry to the Division to
note any changes to a patient’s payment source that may not be reflected in MDS data.
Such correction entries for payment status will be assumed to be permanent unless a
subsequent correction entry is submitted for a resident.

Number of Residents, Overall CMI Averages and Medicaid CMI Average — The number

of residents and average case mix index score, based on relative weights for “Case Mix

Index for All Patients” in Exhibit D-1, are listed for 3 categories of residents by payment

source — Medicaid, Medicare and Other. For Medicaid patients, an average case mix

index score, based on relative weights for “Case Mix Index for Medicaid Patients,” is also listed.

Number and % of Residents Included in Cognitive Add-On — The number and percentage of
Medicaid residents with BIMS scores less than or equal to 5 and residents with Cognitive
Performance Scale scores of moderately severe to very severe.

TN No.._12-003 GEP - § 20%

Supersedes Approval Date: Effective Date:_02-01-2012
TN No.._NEW



AALLCAGC SRR ER Tt 7S
Page 1
State Georgia

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
NURSING FACILITY SERVICES

The following sections summarize the methods and procedures for determining nursing facility
reimbursement rates in the format prescribed by the Department of Health and Human Services
(DHHS).

Explanation of Commonly Used Terms

Dodge Index Factor: An index of activity in the construction industry in the United States,
produced by McGraw Hill, an information services company.

Growth Allowance Factor: Inflation factor applied to the allowed per diem for each of the four
non-property cost centers.

Net Per Diem: Net amount determined by dividing total audited cost by total audited patient
days. This net per diem amount is calculated for each of the four non-property cost centers.

Quality Incentive Adjustment: A one or two percent increase to a provider’s allowed Routine
Services per diem amount as a result of achieving certain clinical and non-clinical criteria
established by the Department.

Quarterly Medicaid Case Mix Score: The quarterly relative weight assigned to a Medicaid
patient based on the patient’s Resource Utilization Group (RUG) category.

Resource Utilization Group (RUG): Mutually exclusive categories that reflect levels of
resource need in long-term care settings, primarily to facilitate Medicare and Medicaid payment.

Standard Per Diem: The maximum allowed per diem amount for each of the four non-property
cost centers,

A. Cost Finding and Cost Reporting

1. All nursing facilities are required to report costs for the twelve months ending June 30%
of each year. Cost report instructions are published by July 31* of each year for use
during that State fiscal year. Release of the instructions may be delayed on occasion in
order to implement significant policy changes.

2. All nursing facilities are required to detail their entire costs for the reporting year, or for
the period of participation in the plan (if less than the full cost reporting year) for
allowable costs under the Georgia Plan. These costs are reported by the facility using a
Uniform Chart of Accounts prescribed by the State Agency and on the basis of generally
accepted accounting principles and accrual methods of accounting.
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
NURSING FACILITY SERVICES

a. All nursing facilities are required to report costs on a uniform cost report form
provided by the State Agency. Hospital-Based facilities using Medicare fiscal year
ending dates between May 31 and June 30 must submit cost reports on or before
November 30. Those using Medicare fiscal year ending dates between July 31 and
September must submit cost reports on or before December 31 using the most recent
complete fiscal year cost data. All other facilities are required to submit cost reports
on or before September 30 of the year in which the reporting period ends.

b. All nursing facilities are required to submit to the Department any changes in the
amount of or classification of reported costs made on the original cost report within
thirty days after the implementation of the original cost report used to set
reimbursement rates. Adjustments to amounts or changes in classification of reported
costs in prior years will not be considered.

3. All nursing facilities are required to maintain financial and statistical detail to substantiate
the cost data reported for a period of at least three years following the date of submission
of the cost report form to the State Agency. These records must be made available upon
demand fo representatives of the State Agency or the DHHS.

4. The State Agency shall retain all uniform cost reports submitted in accordance with

paragraph 2a above for a period of three years following the date of submission of such
reports, and will properly maintain those reports.

B. Audits

1. The State Agency has, as needed, updated and revised resource materials developed in
prior years through the accomplishment of the following tasks:

a. The development of standards of reasonableness for each major cost center of a
nursing facility;

b. The development of a computerized desk review process for the submitted uniform
cost reports; and

¢. The development of a detailed on-site audit plan, using generally accepted auditing
standards.
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
NURSING FACILITY SERVICES

The standards, desk review, and on-site audits ensure that only expense items allowable
under the Georgia Plan, as detailed under Section C of this attachment, are included in
the facility’s uniform cost report and that the expense items included are accurately
determined and are reasonable.

. The State Agency will conduct analyses of the uniform cost reports for the reporting year
ending the previous June 30th to verify that the facility has complied with paragraphs 2
and 3 above in Section A.

. Where the analyses conducted, as specified in paragraph B 2 above, reveal that a facility
has not complied with requirements, further auditing of the facility’s financial and
statistical records and other documents will be conducted as needed.

. On-site audits of the financial and statistical records will be performed annually in at least
15 percent of participating facilities. Such on-site audits of financial and statistical
records will be sufficiently comprehensive in scope to ascertain whether, in all material
respects, the uniform cost report complies with Section B, Paragraph.1 above.

. The on-site audits conducted in accordance with Section B, paragraph 4 above shall
produce an audit report which shall meet generally accepted auditing standards. The
report shall declare the auditor’s opinion as to whether, in all material respects, the
uniform cost report includes only expense items allowable under the Georgia Plan, as
detailed under Section C of this attachment, and that the expense items included are
accurately determined, and are reasonable. These audit reports shall be kept by the State
Agency for at least three years following the date of submission of such reports, and will
be properly maintained.

. Any overpayments found in audits under this paragraph will be accounted for on Form
HCFA-64 no later than 60 days from the date that the final rate notification is sent to the
nursing facility.

C. Allowability of Costs

The Department uses the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Manual (CMS 15-1)
Medicare principles, as a guide to determine allowable and non-allowable costs. However, in
situations where warranted, the Department has developed policy regarding cost allowability
outsold of CMS 15-1. In addition to the use of the CMS 15-1 as a guide, the Department
describes specific cost allowability in Supplement 2 of Attachment 4.19-D. The following
paragraphs address the allowability of costs:
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
NURSING FACILITY SERVICES

1. Allowable Costs Include the Following:

a. The cost of meeting certification standards. These costs include all items of expense
which providers must incur to meet the definition of nursing facilities under Title
XIX statutory and regulatory requirements and as otherwise prescribed by the
Secretary of HHS for nursing facilities; in order to comply with requirements of the
State Agency responsible for establishing and maintaining health standards; and in

order to comply with any other requirements for nursing facility licensing under the
State law;

b. All items of expense which providers incur in the provision of routine services.
Routine services include the regular room, dietary and nursing services, minor
medical and surgical supplies, and the use of equipment and facilities. Additional
allowable costs include depreciation, interest, and rent expense as defined in the
principles of reimbursement in CMS-15-1, except that actual malpractice insurance
costs are reimbursed as reported in the facility's cost report, subject to audit
verification; and

c. Costs applicable to services, facilities, and supplies furnished to a provider by
common ownership or control shall not exceed the lower of the cost to the related
organization or the price of comparable services, facilities, or supplies purchased
elsewhere Providers are required to identify such related organization and costs on the
State’s uniform cost report,
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES

NURSING FACILITY SERVICES

2. Non-Allowable Costs Include the Following:

a. Bad debts of non-Title XIX program patients and charity and courtesy
allowances shall not be included in allowable costs. The only bad debts
allowable are those defined in 42 CFR 413.80. The value of operating rights and
licenses and/or goodwill is not an — allowable cost and is not included in the
computation of the return on equity;

b. Effective for the determination of reasonable costs used in the establishment of
reimbursement rates on and after April 1, 1991, the costs listed below are
nonallowable.

il

iii.

iv.

vi.

Vii.

Costs related to lobbying and government relations, including costs for
employees with duties related to lobbying and government relations,
honorariums and reimbursement of travel or other expenses of elected
officials;

Memberships in civic organizations;

Out-of-state travel paid by the provider for persons other than board members
or those employed or contracted by the provider. Out-of-state travel for
provider personne! must be related to patient care;

Vehicle depreciation or vehicle lease expense in excess of the lesser of IRS
limits per vehicle or the amount allowed under Medicare reimbursement
principles; provided, however, such limits shall not apply to specialized
patient transport vehicles (e.g. ambulances),

Air transport vehicles that are not used to transport patient care staff or
patients. If these vehicles are sometimes used for patient care staff or patient
transport, the portion of cost that is unrelated to patient care staff or patient
transport is nonallowable;

Fifty percent (50%) of membership dues for national, state and local
associations;

Legal services for an administrative appeal or hearing, or court proceeding
mvolving the provider and the Department or any other state agency when
judgment or relief is not granted to the provider. Legal services associated
with certificate of need issuance reviews, appeals, disputes or court
proceedings are not allowable regardless of outcome. Legal services
associated with a provider's initial certificate of need request shall be
allowable;
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
NURSING FACILITY SERVICES

viil.  Advertising costs that are {(a) for fund raising purposes; (b) incurred in the sale
or lease of a facility or agency or in connection with issuance of the provider's
own stock, or the sale of stock held by the provider in another corporation; (c)
for the purpose of increasing patient utilization of the provider's facilities; (d)
for public image improvement; or (e) related to govermnment relations or
lobbying; and

1x.  The cost of home office vehicle expense.
D. Methods and Standards for Determining Reasonable Cost-Related Payments
The 2009 cost report, using the reporting format and underlying instructions established by the
Department, will be used to determine a facility’s allowable cost that will be the basis for
computing a rate.
1. Prospective Rates
Payment rates to nursing facilities and ICF/MRs are determined prospectively using costs
from a base period. For dates of service beginning February 1, 2012, the 2009 Cost Report is
the basis for rermbursement.

2. Determination of Payment Classes

Classes are determined in accordance with Section 1002 of Supplement 2 to Attachment
4.19-D of the State Plan.

E. Payment Assurances

The State will pay each provider of nursing care services, who furnishes the services in
accordance with the requirements of the State Plan, the amount determined for services furnished
by the provider under the Plan according to the methods and standards set forth in

Section D, above,

In no case shall the payment rate for services provided under the plan exceed the facility's
customary charges to the general public for such services.

TN No. 12-003
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
NURSING FACILITY SERVICES

F. Prowider Participation

Payments made in accordance with methods and standards described in this attachment are
designed to enlist participation of a sufficient number of providers of services in the program; so
that eligible persons can receive the medical care and services included in the State Plan at least
to the extent these arc available to the general public.

G. Payment i Full

Participation in the program shall be limited to providers of service who accept, as payment in
full, the amounts paid in accordance with the State Plan.

H. Payment Limitation Applicable to Patients in Nursing Facilities with Medicare Part A
Entitlement

Effective with dates of payment of February 1, 1991, and after, the maximum allowable payment
for Medicare nursing facility coinsurance (crossover) claims will be the nursing facility’s
Medicaid specific per diem rate in effect for the dates of services of the crossover claims. The
crossover claims will not be subsequently adjusted due to subsequent per diem rate adjustments.

Daily cost-sharing charges for beneficiaries will commence on the 21st day of service through
the 100™ day of service. These patients must be eligible for Part A Medicare and be admitted
to an approved Medicare facility under conditions payable by Medicare.

[ Nurse Aide Training

The Department adjusts per diem payment rates to reimburse the costs associated with
replacement wages and overtime for nurse aide training and testing. This adjustment does not
apply to ICF/MR facilities. Beginning with dates of service July 1, 1992, and after, the
Department will not adjust reimbursement rates for the cost of replacement wages and overtime
for nurse aide training and testing because these costs are included in the 1991 cost reports,

J. Public Process

The State has a place a public process which complies with the requirement of Section
1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social Security Act.

TN No. 12-603
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
NURSING FACILITY SERVICES

K. Other Adjustments to Rates

1.

Effective July 1, 2003, in order to recognize the Medicaid share to a facility’s cost of
paying fees for Georgia’s Nursing Home Provider Fee Act, an adjustment equal to the fee
payable for each Medicaid patient day will be added to the facility’s rate. During the
quarter beginning July 1, 2003, the adjustment amount will be estimated by the Division;
any difference between the estimated and actual fee will be corrected by changes to rates
for a subsequent quarter. For periods beginning October 1, 2003, the adjustment amount
will be based on the fee applicable for the prior quarter.

For payments made for services provided on or after July I, 2005, State governmental
facilities and non-State governmental facilities will be eligible for rate payment
adjustments. The rate adjustment payments are intended to provide supplementai funding
for Medicaid services to facilities that based on their governmental status, need sufficient
funds for their commitments to meet the healthcare needs of all members of their
communities. The rate payment adjustments will be subject to federal upper payment
limits. For the appropriate groupings of State governmental facilities, non-State
governmental facilities and non-governmental facilities, aggregate rate adjustment
payments available without exceeding upper payment limits will be determined by
measuring the difference between: '

a. All amounts paid for services provided to Medicaid patients; and,
b. Estimated payment amounts for such services if payments were based on Medicare
payment principles.

Comparison of all amounts paid for services provided to Medicaid patients and estimated
payment amounts for such services if payments were based on Medicare payment
principles will also be made for each facility to determined facility specific rate
adjustment payments. These rate payment adjustments will be made at the end of the
quarter and will be determined in a manner which wili not duplicate compensation
provided from payments for individual patient claims.

An example of how a rate adjustment payment is calculated is presented on the following pages.
This table is for illustrative purposes only and the values are meaningless.

TN No. 12-003 :
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Quarter | Quarter | Quarter | Quarter
Ending Ending Ending Ending
08/30/11 | 12/31/11 | 03/31/12 | 06/30/12
Medicare UPL Rate
PPS rate based on Medicaid patients
Linel foreach quarter 189.00 213.09 213.09 213.08
Line2 Adjustment for change in case mix 1.0158 1.0093 1.0093 1.0096
Line3  Adjusted Medicare rate for UPL 121.9¢9 215.07 215.07 215.14
Medicaid UPL Rate
tined Maedicaid rate without provider fee 161.02 161.02 161.02 161.02
Line5  Provider Fee adjustment 13.39 13.39 13.39 13.39
Statewide average payment for other
Linet  services 14.11 14.11 14.11 1411
Line7  Adjusted Medicaid rate for UPL 188.52 188.52 188.52 188.52
Medicare UPL rate minus Medicaid UPL rate
Line 8 3.47 26.55 26.55 26.62
Medicaid Patient Days
Medicaid days reported from quarteriy
Line8  provider fee report 26,500 28,317 28,317 28,317
Line 10  Estimated change in patient days for SFY2011  {0.0109) (0.0101) (0.0101) (0.0067)
Line 11 Portion of year for each quarter 25% 25% 25% 25%
Line 12  Adjusted Medicaid patient days for UPL 6,553 7,008 7,008 7,032
Facility-Specific UPL calculation
Line 13 22,763 186,088 186,088 187,218
Facility-Specific UPL caiculation for 067-01-11 to 06-30-
iz 22,763 186,088 186,088 187,218
Allocation of UPL aggregate Hmit {1) 0 0 0
UPL caleulation subject to aggregate limit 22,762 186,088 186,088 187,218
UPL calculation for 07-01-11 to 06-30-12 582,156

TN No. 12-003 SEP -6 2012
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NURSING FACILITY RATE DETERMINATION FOR VENTILATOR DEPENDENT
RESIDENTS

(1) The nursing facility per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be $463.87 effective
for dates of service on and after November 13, 2009. Through June 30, 2012, the per diem will
increase annually on January | by an annual inflation factor. The Department will use the
Skilled Nursing Facility Total Market Basket (with capital) inflation factors from Global Insight
and use the first quarter of the current year and compare it to the first quarter of the prior vear to
determine the annual inflation amount to be applied.

(2) The per diem costs of providing services to the ventilator dependent residents shall be
maintained separately (as a distinct part) of each facility’s annual cost report beginning
November 13, 2009.

(3) Ventilator dependent per diem rates will cover all skilled nursing care Services and will
be all-inclusive.

{4y  No additional amount above the current nursing facility daily rate shall be allowed until
the service is prior authorized by the Department’s Medical Management Contractor.

(5) The resident’s clinical condition shall be reviewed every 90 days to determine if the
resident’s medical condition continues to warrant services at the ventilator dependent nursing
facility rate. Prior authorization through the Department’s Medical Management Contractor
spans a 90-day maximum time period. The nursing facility is required to resubmit requests for
continued stay prior to expiration of the current PA. If a resident no longer requires the use of a
ventilator, the provider shall not receive additional reimbursement beyond the Georgia Medicaid
nursing home per diem rate determined for the facility.

TN No. 12-003 SEP - ¢ 2012
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PART II, POLICIES AND PROCEDURES FOR
NURSING FACILITY SERVICES
APPENDIX |
NURSING FACILITY ADMINISTRATIVE REVIEWS
Application

This section describes appeals procedures for certain nursing facility {(including ICF/MR)
situations.

Pre-Admission Approval

a. Upon application for pre-admission approval, the nursing facility and the
applicant/recipient or an authorized representative shall be given written
notification of the Division’s determination. Upon denial of pre-admission
approval, the applicant/recipient or an authorized representative may obtain a
reconsideration by the Division by so requesting in writing.

All requests for reconsideration must be received by the Department of
Community Health Program Specialist no later than ten (10) days following
receipt of the initial denial and must be accompanied by additional medical
documentation to justify a reconsideration. All such requests are to be addressed
to:

Atin: Program Specialist

Department of Community Health

Aging and Special Populations Floor 37

2 Peachtree Street, NW

Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3159

a. A decision on the request for reconsideration will be accomplished within fifteen
(15) working days of its receipt by the Specialist. The applicant/recipient and the

nursing facility will be notified in writing of the reconsideration decision by the
Division .

b. If an applicant/recipient disagrees with the Division’s decision, that person, or an
authorized representative, may file a request for a hearing. All such requests must
be received by the local county Department of Family and Children Services
Office or the Fair Hearings Unit of the Department of Human Services no later
than thirty (30} days after the date of the notice of decision.

¢. An initial decision on any matter with respect to which a hearing is requested
shall be rendered in writing by a Hearing Officer of the Fair Hearings Unit.
Should such a decision be adverse to the medical assistance applicant/recipient,

TN No.:_12-003 -
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that person or representative may appeal the decision by filing an appeal with the
Hearing Officer for Final Appeals in accordance with directions from the Fair
‘Hearings Unit.

d. If an aggrieved applicant/recipient of medical assistance exhausts all the
administrative remedies provided, judicial review of the decision may be obtained
in the same manner and under the same standards which are applicable to those
contested cases which are reviewable pursuant to O.C.G.A, Section 50-13-19.

Rev. 07/06
Billing Rate and Disallowance of Cost from the Cost Report

Reimbursement rates (billing rates) for nursing facilities (NF and ICF/MR) are
established pursuant to the provisions discussed in Supplement 2 to Attachment 4.19-D.
A billing rate calculation notice will be sent to a provider each time a rate is initially
calculated for a given cost report period or is subsequently adjusted as a result of audit or
review by the Division or its agent. A billing rate calculation will also be sent to a
provider on a quarterly basis for rate changes that are a result of the case-mix
reimbursement methodology (i.e. CPS, CMI, and nursing hour changes). Nursing
facilities rates and percentiles will be based on costs reported by the providers which are
reviewed by the Division or its agent. Cost reports and adjustments determined
appropriate by the Division will be used to establish rates. Those cost reports and
adjustments determined appropriate prior to initial establishment of the annual percentile
ceilings (as described in Supplement 2 to Attachment 4.19-D) shall be used in calculation
of the percentiles. Those cost reports and adjustments determined appropriate subsequent
to initial establishment of the annual percentile ceilings shall be used to adjust rates only;
percentile ceilings will not be adjusted.

Rev. 07/06
Any provider wishing to appeal its rate as initially established, its subsequent rate change
as a result of audit or review, or its quarterly rate change as a result of the case-mix

reimbursement methodology must follow the process set out in subsections (a) - (c)
below:

Rev. 07/06 .

a. Should a provider wish to appeal a decision of the Division regarding a billing
rate calculation, including related disallowances from the cost report, the provider
must file a written request for reconsideration with the Division. All such requests
must be received by the Division within thirty (30) days of the date of the billing
rate calculation notice. Requests received after this deadline shall not be
considered. If no request for reconsideration is received by the Division by the
deadline, the provider shall be deemed to have waived its right to a hearing
concerning the calculation of the billing rate and related disallowances from the
cost report. Initially established rate calculated for a given cost report period and

TN Ne.:_12-003 P-£ 201
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their related disallowances can only be appealed within 30 days after the rates are
initially established.

The written request must address all questioned disallowance(s) and other specific
point(s) of dispute and must be accompanied by supporting documents or other
evidence to justify reconsideration. Requests for reconsideration must be directed
to:

Rev. 07/06  Program Manager

Rev. 07/06

Nursing Home Reimbursement, 39 Floor
Division of Medical Assistance

2 Peachiree Street, N.W.

Atlanta, GA 30303-3159

The Program Manager of the Nursing Home Reimbursement Unit will have one
hundred twenty days (120) from the date of receipt of the reconsideration request
to render a decision unless the Program Manager determines there are extenuating
circumstances (e.g., multiple facilities are involved or the rate change is a result of
a federal disallowance) or additional information is required. If the Program
Manager (or any authorized staff of the Nursing Home Unit) requests additional
mformation, the nursing facility must submit to this information to the Unit within
thirty (30} days of the date of such request. The Program Manager will have
ninety (90) days from the date of receipt of the additional information to render a
decision concerning the written requests or inquiries submitted by a nursing
facility. Failure of a nursing facility to provide information within the specified
time frame requested by the Division will result in the denial of the nursing
facility’s appeal by the Program Manager. Failure of the Program Manager to
respond within the time frames described herein will result in approval of the
nursing facility’s request.

The provider must file a request for a reconciliation conference if it wishes to
appeal the Division’s reconsideration decision. All such requests must be in
writing and must be received within thirty (30) days from the date of the notice of
the reconsideration decision. Requests received after this deadline shall not be
considered. If no request for a reconciliation conference is received by the
Division by the deadline. the provider shall be deemed to have waived its right to
a hearing concerning the calculation of the billing rate and related disallowances
from the cost report. All such requests must be directed to the address noted in
subsection a) above,

Conferences will be scheduled at the Division’s office. The Division Director will
have sixty (60) days from the date of the reconciliation conference to render a
decision unless both parties to the conference agree to extend the time limitation.

If the provider appeals a rate adjustment which is the result of a cost report
adjustment(s) determined appropriate subsequent to the establishment of
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percentile ceilings, the change will not be effected until the date of the Division’s
reconciliation conference decision. To the extent that such a rate change decreases
a rate granted prior to review, it shall be affected by retroactive rate adjustment
rather than through a request for refund or by recoupment.

Rev. 07/01/06
If the provider disagrees with the reconciliation conference decision, the provider
may obtain a hearing on the matter by filing a written request there for with the
Legal Services Section of the Division in accordance with O.C.G.A. §49-4-153.

Sanctions
In addition to the termination and suspension as a Medicaid provider, the Division may
impose the sanctions described below.

Nursing Facilities
a. The Division may sanction a nursing facility for failure to submit the required
cost report as outlined in Supplement 3 of Attachment 4.19-D.

b. The Division may deny reimbursement for services to ICF/MR recipients
admitted to a facility on or after the effective date specified on written notice to
that facility that it is not in compliance with Subsection 106.8 of the Part I,
Policies and Procedure for Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids manual.

" If the Division or its agent has determined that conditions in the facility have
neither damaged nor immediately endanger the health, safety, or welfare of a
recipient, the effective date of the notice shall be no earlier than five days afier the
date of receipt by the facility, during which time the facility will have the
opportunity to correct the cited conditions.

The Division’s action shall be predicated on a report from the agent, under its
contract with the Division to perform on-site reviews of nursing facilities, which
takes into account the medical, safety, environmental, and physical needs of the
facility’s residents. The denial of reimbursement shall remain in effect until such
time as the Division determines, after subsequent on-site review, that the facility
is meeting the aforementioned needs of its residents and is no longer damaging or
endangering the health, safety, or welfare of any recipient. This denial shall not
apply to temporarily hospitalized recipients previously residing in a facility,
placed on such notice, who return to the facility after the date of notice. Neither
shall it apply to persons who resided in the facility prior to the date of notice, and
subsequently become Medicaid eligible.

A facility which has received notice of the Division’s denial of reimbursement for
newly admitted patients may appeal such action in the manner described in
0.C.G.A. §49-4-153. However, nothing in this provision shall impede the
authority of the Division to deny payment for new admissions or suspend or
terminate a facility’s participation under Section 402, Part I, Policies and
Procedures for Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids manual.

TN No.:_12-003 SEP -6 2012
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¢. The Division may deny reimbursement for services to recipients in nursing
facilities, who are admitted afier the facility’s receipt of notice that its
participation in the program will be terminated by the Department of Community
Health, under its own volition or as a result of an action taken by the Healthcare
Facility Regulation Division of the Department of Community Health, or by the

Health Care Financing Administration of the U.S. Department of Health and
Human Services.

The Division may impose any or all of the remedies when a nursing facility fails to
meet a Program Requirement as defined therein.
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