DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28 Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850



Financial Management Group

June 26, 2023

Lynnette R. Rhodes Executive Director, Medical Assistance Plans Division Georgia Department of Community Health 2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive SE East Tower, 19th Floor Atlanta, Georgia 30334

RE: State Plan Amendment (SPA) GA-22-0014

Dear Director Rhodes:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State Plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 22-0014. This State Plan Amendment increases the per diem reimbursement rate from \$589.62 to \$707.54 for nursing facilities that provide specialized care to ventilator-dependent residents.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C.

This is to inform you that Medicaid State Plan Amendment GA-22-0014 is approved effective July 1, 2022. The CMS-179 and the amended plan pages are attached.

If you have any questions or need further assistance, please contact James Francis at 857-357-6378 or via email at James.Francis@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Rory Howe

Rory Howe Director

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES-NURSING FACILITY SERVICES

NURSING FACILITY RATE DETERMINATIONS FOR VENTILATOR DEPENDENT RESIDENTS

(1) Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2019, the nursing facility per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be \$540.55.

Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2020, the nursing facility per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be \$556.77.

Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2021, the nursing facility per diem for a ventilator dependent resident will be \$589.62.

Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2022, the nursing facility per diem for a ventilator dependent residents will be \$707.54.

- (2) The per diem costs of providing services to the ventilator dependent residents shall be maintained separately (as a distinct part) of each facility's annual cost report beginning November 13, 2009.
- (3) Ventilator dependent per diem rates will cover all skilled nursing care services and will be all-inclusive.
- (4) No additional amount above the current nursing facility daily rate shall be allowed until the service is prior authorized by the Department's Medical Management Contractor.
- (5) The resident's clinical condition shall be reviewed every 90 days to determine if the resident's medical condition continues to warrant services at the ventilator dependent nursing facility rate. Prior authorization through the Department's Medical Management Contractor spans a 90-day maximum time period. The nursing facility is required to resubmit requests for continued stay prior to expiration of the current PA. If a resident no longer requires the use of a ventilator, the provider shall not receive additional reimbursement beyond the Georgia Medicaid nursing home per diem rate determined for the facility.